We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food/questionable servers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Living Room

The Living Room
2475 West Queen Creek Road, Chandler, AZ 85248
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Living Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 542 Restaurants in Chandler
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
az
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food/questionable servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Let me begin with the great news, the food is fantastic! I've had multiple menu items and have been happy each time; so has everyone else at my table. Happy hour is great time to go.
The setting is comfortable and relaxing. There are board games available to play while you are hanging out. Now for something gross. I was there on Monday and we sat inside since outside seating was packed. It was Happy Hour. We were seated near the bar/server's station where the plates and eating utensils are kept. A man (who I gathered from his interactions with the other employees was in charge) walked over to the server's station, picked up a small stack of plates, held them in one and and with a finger from his left hand rubbed for a good few seconds the crevice behind his ear. Then he used that same hand to pick out the utensils and walked away to a table. Not only was that sickening but he also appeared to be slightly inebriated. Moving passed that... I wish they would serve the fondue in a different contraption. The wind blew out our candle immediately after it was set before us. After relighting, it once again went out. This isn't well thought out since the place is open air. ( Which also means, when someone is smoking out front, you smell it inside. )

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Always a lively after work option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great upscale afterwork or evening hang. They offer many "skinny" beverages. Food is limited to appetizers but they now two sister restaurants - Sushi Room and Chop within the same shopping center for full-service dining.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Casual & Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Group place to sit comfortably, just like in your own "living room', but having someone else do the cooking & serving. Good atmosphere, food & drink

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I agree with Livin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

So much potential...obviously they have all the business they need because they don't seem too concerned about having customers come back. Have been there when the place is empty, and have been there when the place is packed, almost always for happy hour. I think the food is overpriced for what it is, but we do enjoy the cheese fondue and bruchetta. Most recent frustration was the seating issue--we go there to sit on the sofas outside. (We're a twosome) Two sofas were vacant, but we were told they were "expecting a group." There were no inside tables we really wanted--"host" said, oh, go sit there--2 hours later we were still on our sofa and no group had materialized. C'mon, folks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So much potential but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

As a professional in the industry I spent some time wine bar hopping in Arizona and wanted to check out The Living Room. The wine selection was great, bottles and glasses, nice menu and great restaurant layout. Unfortunately the afternoon I was there with a friend they staff was inattentive and looked bored. Since it was a wine bar I expected to be told of the happy hour specials and the wine by the bottle specials, I also expected the staff to be able to talk about the wines they offered. Our server didn't do any of those things. Even when you don't know a wine you should at least offer to ask someone, which he didn't. The little things that went wrong out-shadowed the positives of this restaurant: asking for water and never getting it (twice); asking for a wine bottle list and getting it after two attempts; being told we couldn't sit in the bar because a large party had it reserved (4 hours later from the time we arrived) and finally, I asked for the local cab number so we could continue our wine bar hopping; the server insisted on calling for us, after waiting outside for 25 minutes I walked back in he took one look at me and realized that he forgot to call!?! Wow! I understand we all have those nights but man! I hope the owners take a hard look at their establishment and realize that they could be much more profitable if they train staff on wine, service and etiquette. Especially when you never know who you will be serving.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Room also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Living Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Living Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.