We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grimaldis Pizzeria

Grimaldis Pizzeria
7131 W. Ray Rd. Ste 23, Chandler, AZ
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #14 of 507 restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We ordered a small mediterranean salad and a small pizza with pesto, chicken and mushrooms. Lovely fresh ingredients on the thin-crust wood fired pizza. Despite our best efforts we came home with half a pizza - their definition of small and mine are definitely different! We would happily return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    15
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rjdtba
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Pizza; Calzone very ODD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Okay...I admit it...I am a fussy Italian and picky about my Italian food. While the Pizza's at Grimaldi's are good, they are pretty expensive for the small amount of cheese and ingredients. Sauce is good, dough is crispy/good so they get high marks for this part. Caesar salad dressing is too vinegar-y......NOT really a Caesar.
Last night we decided to try the Calzone...I've eaten Calzone all over the world in some great Italian restaurants.... and this rendition of Calzone is very unusual and not all that great....WAY too much Ricotta cheese, not enough mozarella cheese and the sausage and roasted red peppers and mushrooms were hard to find....tiny little plastic container of sauce....Calzones were big, but...size isn't a good indicator of quality.....THis is NOT what Calzone's are supposed to be like...It should be labeled a RICOTTA EXTRAVAGANZA..not a Calzone...It was mushy and.....well....just odd......With extra ingredients that I couldn't find but paid alot for.....it was spendy....and a left over that I didn't really even want to take home. THAT is unusual for me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The price is high, but the quality of the food and the great service are exceptional. Great place for special occassions.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Top Contributor
386 reviews 386 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“THE CALAZONES ARE THE BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Last week we were in the area again and decided it was time for a Calazone! Only one place to go--GRIMALDIS! So glad that they expand and opened another location.

For our main course, we ordered a large 18 inch pepperoni calazone--they are just the best here. Why would 2 people order an 18 inch calazone? FOR THE LEFT OVERS of course! This reheats great and is great for another lunch at home. We will return often!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Coal Fired Brick Oven Pizza, NYC Style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Grimaldi's is as authentic as it gets when looking for NYC pizza. Nice sliced pieces of mozzarella cheese, not the grated orange stuff. Thin crust perfection. The salads are just as good. The menu consists of pizza, salad and calzones, what more do you need? They do have a bar area. This pizza is best served hot out of the oven to your table. This location is located in the Casa Paloma shopping center.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimaldis Pizzeria also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Grimaldis Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimaldis Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.