We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tien Wong Hot Pot & Shabu - CLOSED

Tien Wong Hot Pot & Shabu
2330 N. Alma School Road, Biulding #118, Chandler, AZ 85224
(480) 802-2525
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
US
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tasty and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you've never experienced a hot pot restaurant this is a great restaurant to try. Even if you are an old hand at hot pots, this is a great restaurant. There is a nice assortment of different soup bases and an enormous variety of items to cook in your hot pot, meats (we had beef and lamb), vegetables (we had baby bok choi), mushrooms (we had enoki) , noodles, seafood (shrimp, squid, green mussels), tofu, and on and on. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated and the service was attentive. We were a party of 4, but this would be a fun place, much better than a Benihana style teppanyaki, for a larger group to have a tasty and fun meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Healthy Hot Pot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Chandler is lucky to have such a unique restaurant. It's a fun, very social and healthy choice for a dinner out. Up to four people share a pot of broth to cook their choice of vegetables, meats, and mushrooms at their table. Depending on the selections of hot pot ingredients, the bill ranges from $8- $15. The decor is simple but very attractive and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“If you don't want to do your own cooking, go elsewhere!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We went because it was a new restaurant and they had a well known chef/owner, Johnny Chu, formerly of “Fate” in Phoenix. It's in a strip center with both a Japanese (Ninja)and Chinese restaurant (Chinese Gourmet) as neighbors, on Alma School in Chandler. Decor was pretty and new, somewhat mod with large very colorful silk lanterns hanging from the high ceiling. Each table has a cooking element in its center which will keep your broth bubbling hot for cooking.
I need to warn those who don't like to have to cook their own meals, that you will have to work for your Hot Pot! I would call this a high class oriental fondue dinner of sorts. You choose a broth for the two of you, about half a dozen choices, both mild and spicy, then the individual ingredients (starches like rice or various noodles) and proteins (beef, pork, chicken, tongue and various sea-foods) and veggies (variety of oriental greens and several types of mushroom) and many different kinds of tofu. The individual ingredients are brought out on plates, beautifully displayed and of course all raw. A stainless steel pot of broth is placed on your burner and your are given tongs, a ladle, a long handled strainer plus your chopsticks and ceramic soup spoons. Most ingredients need not more than 1 to 2 minutes to cook and flavor your broth. We ordered the spicy Thai Tom Yum broth which needed a lot of soy sauce and hot chili oil to flavor it properly, there was no salt or pepper on the table. The noodles we ordered (chow fun) were about a half inch wide and 10 to 12 inches long, making it very difficult to eat without slurping and dripping broth on your chin and upper chest! All the ingredients were beautiful to look at, fresh and vibrantly colored and individually full flavored. Unfortunately the soup bowls were tiny, perhaps 12 oz. capacity, more slurping and dripping. I had coconut milk to drink, tasted fresh and delicious, my wife had jasmine tea, also very good. No alcohol is served, you can however BYOB if you wish. For dessert we split a strawberry cheese cake, very beautiful and rich tasting. Total bill was $37 + tip, I thought a bit steep for a bowl of soup, but it did fill us (added 5 ingredients). I would give the atmosphere a 4, the service a 5, the food a 3 ½, and the value a 3 ½..

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Go There!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Simply put: this place is fantastic.

Having never been to a Hot Pot restaurant, our party was warmly greeted by the hostess who took time to explain the cuisine. Each table is equipped with an individual flat top cooker for the hot pot. The pot is divided into two sections allowing us to order the House Herbal and House Spicy broths (there are 7 varieties from which to choose). All broths are homemade and teeming with seasonings, spices, and flavor. The natural flavors are excellent and made to accompany the menu items perfectly. The broths are not made from salty bullion and taste exactly as written. We ordered the spicy – it’s flavorful and spicy – and the herbal which had nice, layered, mild flavor. After selecting the broths, we then selected from the menu the various items that we’d be cooking. There is a very good selection of meats and seafood, tofu and noodles, mushrooms and vegetables, and additional special items written on the back of the menu card. Many items are homemade and unique.

The Chef, Johnny, is continuously walking about and visiting every single table providing recommendations, answering questions, and making sure everyone is managing their pots just right. He greeted us early on and switched up some things on our menu card insisting that these new items would best accompany the broths we selected. Hearing a member of our party is gluten free, he immediately had the waitperson whisk away the initial soy dish to bring us some gluten free soy sauce. Johnny is an experienced chef who knows what works (and wants you to know it, too), which we appreciated. We got a good laugh when we asked if broccoli was available to which he replied “you don’t come here for broccoli!” with a smile… in other words, this is a new cuisine for you – give these items a try! We did and were not disappointed for one second.

We selected various meats, vegetables, noodles, mushrooms, and tofu. Each item was well presented on separate plates and brought out quickly. Cooking was very fast, almost effortless, fun, and allowed our party to visit and share several items that we otherwise would not have had if we’d ordered one traditional plate per person elsewhere. The décor is clean with a slight upscale vibe. The music followed suit. Prices are very reasonable and overall it was a great (and delicious) experience.

We’d highly recommend this restaurant. The food – including a dessert of green tea cheesecake - was very tasty, healthy, and unique. P.S. We were the party who requested that Trip Advisor add this restaurant so we may review… we were that pleased with our experience.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tien Wong Hot Pot & Shabu also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tien Wong Hot Pot & Shabu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.