We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melt In Your Mouth Steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Shula's

Don Shula's
5040 Wild Horse Pass Blvd, Wild Horse Pass Casino, Chandler, AZ 85226
(520) 796-1972
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 503 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located at the Wild Horse Pass casino
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Melt In Your Mouth Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our dining experience at Shula's was fantastic. The atmosphere is made up of Don Shula's Miami Dolphins (& their perfect year). As avid NFL fans, we loved the replica of the Lombardi Trophy. While Shula's has a lot of sports memorabilia, it is not by any means a sports bar. Very tasteful and upscale. We were a party of eight and everyone enjoyed their meals and drinks. I had the Oscar Filet which melted in my mouth. The crab and asparagus complimented the steak perfectly. We also tried the mushrooms, spinach, and crab macaroni and cheese. All delicious! The staff was over the top accommodating. I agree that a steak should not cost $46 and come with no sides, but it is not just a steak, it's service and an impeccable staff. We highly recommend Shula's and can't stop talking about how good the food is. The only complaint I would have is that I felt very cramped in my chair against the wall. The basic wood chairs are not very comfortable. The booths looked much more inviting. We will be back for sure and requesting a booth!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, AZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Special Dinner at Don Shula's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We received exactly what we expected. This upscale, expensive restaurant is a very special place. This was truly a fine dining experience as opposed to a eating experience.
You are greeted at your table by a trio of excellent wait staff, all performing various tasks to enhance your experience.From the start until the end, it was one of the best dining places we have visited.
We started with drinks and worked our way into the excellent house salad,entree and side dishes. We had the 8 oz. filet with side dishes of spinach and huge baked potato.
We were celebrating my wife's birthday and we received a complimentary large piece of chocolate cake.
You can't miss with this special restaurant.
It is the type of place you would visit for special occasions: birthdays, anniversaries,etc.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Just a great overall beef experience and ambiance. Probably some of the best west of Miami. Nice staff.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The Perfect Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Phoenix metropolitan area has no shortage of steakhouses, especially the national brands such as Flemming's, Mortons and Ruth's Chris. While they are all excellent, Don Shula's Steak House located in the Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino on the Gila Indian Reservation is in a class by itself. Once you get pass the smoke and noise of the casino floor to Don Shula's second level location, you enter a restaurant of calmness and class. Pamela at the Hostess station always greets us warmly and our table is always ready at the time it was reserved, unlike Flemming's where we often have had to wait past our reservation time.

This is a beautiful restaurant with reminders throughout of the winning coach that Don Shula was with the Dolphins. The food presentation is done as Morton's does it on a cart. Some seasonal offerings were available the night of our visit including Alaskan King Crab Legs, Florida Stone Crabs with an excellent mustard sauce and my favorite Blue Points oysters on the half shell.

Our ice cold martini's where shaken at the table by Colette our very talented waitress. Our dinner was lead by very fresh Caesar salads followed by the King Crab Legs for my wife an a fine rare filet migon for me nicely accented with a killer raw horseradish. We split a side of sauteed mushrooms which they prepare with fresh hebrs & garlic. No room for desert, but when we did on previous visits, they were perfect.

This is a very well managed restaurant with great atmosphere, excellent food and a team that makes it clear that they are there to make sure you have a perfect evening. It is worth the drive from anywhere in the Phoenix area, although for us it is a just few minutes away from our home!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I chose to eat here (twice) while on a solo business trip. The services very good and the quality of state is excellent. The portions are huge and I found myself unable to finish either meal. This is a great place for entertaining business clients.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Shula's also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Don Shula's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Shula's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.