We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went to try the early bird” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Restaurant - CLOSED

Cork Restaurant
4991 South Alma School Road, Ste 1, Chandler, AZ 85248
480-883-3773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“went to try the early bird”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

As I had a birthday they printed a greeting on the menu - wow !

The 3 courses for $30 includes a glass of wine so is value for money that way
Soup: butternut squash: was done extremely well
Brioche: the little bread was very acceptable
Steak: we both thought it went well on a base of mushroom risotto
Dessert: decided to share the 2:
crème brulee: not too "eggy" and very smooth
3 sorbets: the flavor was a little too subtle and needed more fruity flavor

I think it is value for money, considering the other prices on the full menu

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    3
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Lousy food, lousy service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went with my wife last night to Cork and I ordered the bison filet, it was their $40 special. One of the four filets was filled with so much fat that I couldn't eat it. It was impossible to trim the fat away because it was almost nothing but fat with a small sliver of meat. The manager came over and I showed him that the filet was inedible. He said that meat sometimes is like that. He told me that's what can happen when ordering any kind of meat. I asked him if he would eat it if it were on his dish. He said, "No." I shrugged my shoulders and said that's a shame that one quarter of my meal (one of the four filets) was impossible to eat.

I was under the impression Cork was fine dining. I've been treated better at Appleby's. No adjustment to the bill, no complimentary dessert, no offer to make it right. NOTHING, but my $130 bill.

I began to think that the man who I spoke with was not a manager. He could not have been. I went to the bar and asked to speak to a manager and another man introduced himself as the manager. I explained my situation and he was apologetic and seemed unsure how to handle it. He told me that he was only the bar manager and not the restaurant manager and that since I had already paid the bill there was nothing he could do except offer me a free drink next time. He shook my hand.

Next time? Was he for real? I'm not a glutton for punishment and I know enough about fine dining to realize this place has problems.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our second visit here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Was enjoyable. The food was very good but not as good as our first visit several years ago. Some dishes, the scallop appetizer & the pork belly appetizer were excellent. Our biggest complaint was that there was almost 30 minutes between courses until we finally commented on that fact. We had waited almost 45 minutes for our appetizers. Although they feature small plates, the dishes are not prepared to make it easy to share. Entrees here may be smaller than normal but not what I would call "a small plate." Dinner gets pricey especially with wine and/or cocktails... In the$100 per person range...I would expect more

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu-Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This restaurant is located near our home and we had never tried since it had opened. I was a little apprehensive since the menu is a little different and I'm a somewhat picky eater. This restaurant did not disappoint!! The food, service and atmosphere were incredible. Well worth the money! The wait staff make your dining experience extra special. We made a reservation for our anniversary and they provided personalized printed menus just for us. Great touch!! I would recommend leaving yourself extra time to savor the experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We discovered Cork when we were looking for a special place to celebrate his birthday. We felt like the staff were so pleased to see us and made us feel very welcome. The food was great and we have been back several times. It is one of our go-to places when we are in AZ. Definitely worth the price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.