We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Restaurant - CLOSED

Cork Restaurant
4991 South Alma School Road, Ste 1, Chandler, AZ 85248
480-883-3773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A real treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We go to this restaurant every time we are down south visiting. We like that the portions are not large. Every morsel is delicious. For desert I always have the banana creme pie, don't count calories on this one. Make reservations early especially on weekends or you will be out of luck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    3
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Driest and most overcooked piece of Halibut”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife’s main dish was the Pan-Roasted Halibut. It was driest and most overcooked piece of Halibut we’ve ever eaten. She literally had to use a knife to cut through portions of the outside and the only thing that made it eatable was the Sweet Corn Bisque that came with it. It’s defiantly not worth the price of $31.00
My main dish was the Charred Duck Breast. It was enormously chewy (tough) and I felt very under-cooked. The Balsamic Mushroom Vinaigrette Sauce was very tasty and helped disguise it. Over the years, Duck has always been one of my favorite dishes however I would never order their Duck again.
I could make comments about the desert we ordered but enough is enough. I will go back to dine there but next time it will be from their bar menu. The couple next to ordered one of the best looking hamburgers I’ve ever seen and I can’t wait to try it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, small portions.Too expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Indeed, the host warned me that rhe portions are "not thr usual American", but rather "european size". I was many times in various European countries. The portions in this restaurant are small even for Europe. The food is tasty but paying 60 bucks for a small green salad (with asparagus! ), small piece of grilled salmon (on beans) and a glass of wine is too much. Pitty since the food is tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“World class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a great spot. Never disappointing. Last Sundays wine tasting was amazing. Great food, well paired, terrific wines, great service. This is a world class restaurant, hidden in Chandler

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Intimate, wine lovers' restaurant, very attentive staff, but food was inconsistent. Very limited menu, with offerings all designed to be paired with wine. Beet Salad was good, but nothing to rave about. Molasses Brined Pork Loin was very flavorful, but meat was inconsistently cooked - some parts deliciously moist and tender, some tough enough I needed the steak knife that came with it. Desert was the highlight. Not a bad restaurant by any means, but for the price, it was a bit of a let down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.