We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Restaurant - CLOSED

Cork Restaurant
4991 South Alma School Road, Ste 1, Chandler, AZ 85248
480-883-3773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cork Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Intimate, wine lovers' restaurant, very attentive staff, but food was inconsistent. Very limited menu, with offerings all designed to be paired with wine. Beet Salad was good, but nothing to rave about. Molasses Brined Pork Loin was very flavorful, but meat was inconsistently cooked - some parts deliciously moist and tender, some tough enough I needed the steak knife that came with it. Desert was the highlight. Not a bad restaurant by any means, but for the price, it was a bit of a let down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    38
    17
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great wine bar and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for interesting tastes and quality food/wine this is a great location. If you're looking for volume go to Cracker Barrel. Loved the food, atmosphere and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“GREAT place for Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to go for Happy Hour, for great food and "secret wine". The Happy Hour wine is $4 and listed as Cab or Chard. But you get whatever is open behind the bar. So you could get a $30 bottle or a $100 bottle. So always exciting to see what you get!!! Also the Happy Hour menu has great apps and a really good fried chicken (which was rather large). Also on Tuesday, any bottle ($60-$120) is half price!

For dinner, they specialize in exotic meats (wild boar, elk). The Lamp Chops were amazing (and nice to know organic). Always satisfied with the menu!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A "Gem" for Chandler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Now this is our 3rd dining experience at Cork within the last 6 months. Each time, our reservation times were honored right on time and were seated without any wait, food and service has been consistently excellent. Our only negative was the 2nd time we dined there the bread was cold, my son doily noted that while dipping in the fine oils. The other negative, just on our recent visit was that we sat a a table instead of a booth which we had previous sat at the last 2 visits. The noise level was extremely hard to hear or have conversation, but this time the bread was warm. Again as I have said in previous reviews, this is a "Gem" for Chandler and a definite fine dining experience Chandler could use.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Over Rated?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We visited Cork with a group of friends all of us travel extensively and have eaten at many fine resturants. We ordered a combination of dishes, each was OK, however the cost for such a small portion is a joke. We all left hungary and for the $600 a little dissapointed. If you like so so food and want to pay a lot for it by all means eat at Cork.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.