We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Restaurant

Cork Restaurant
4991 South Alma School Road, Ste 1, Chandler, AZ 85248
480-883-3773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cork Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 522 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Over Rated?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We visited Cork with a group of friends all of us travel extensively and have eaten at many fine resturants. We ordered a combination of dishes, each was OK, however the cost for such a small portion is a joke. We all left hungary and for the $600 a little dissapointed. If you like so so food and want to pay a lot for it by all means eat at Cork.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    38
    17
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped for lunch - nice little place and great wine selection. The wife really loved the charm of the place and the service was very personable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best Small Plate Restaurant in the Phoenix Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Awesome Food, Terrific Service, Great drinks, Superb Happy Hour, Very classy atmosphere. Every visit has been a very pleasurable experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Littel Portions, Big Prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've taken out of town clients to Cork for business dinners. Unanimous opionion each time, was their portions were very small, and their prices were unrealistic for Chandler.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Foodie Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Cork is a small plates restaurant in a strip mall located in Chandler Heights, Arizona. The menu is diverse, creative and absolutely wonderful. “Small Plates” gets a bad reputation in my opinion but I like variety and in most conventional restaurants, I’d have to order 5-6 entrees to get half the diversity of a meal at Cork and of course, I’d pay double and wouldn’t be able to eat it all anyway. Besides, I’m a big fan of 100 year old balsalmic vinegar and exotic foams and accompaniments on my plate.

The idea behind small plates is that you order 3-5 courses (more or less depending on how much it takes to fill you up) so that by the end of the meal, you have consumed a nice variety of delicious and creative dishes. I have visited a few small plates restaurants and by far, Cork offers the largest and heartiest of the small plates I've ever seen. Most small plates restaurants literally only offer 2-3 bites per plate, as in 2-3 ounces of food per portion. Generally, it takes about 5 courses in these restaurants to fill me up. Cork fills me up in 2-3 courses with dessert as my third course. Where other small plates restaurants offer 1-2 ounces of protein per plate, Cork plates 2-5 ounces of protein, depending on the protein. Expect to pay between $75-100 per person if a glass of wine is included.

To the right, just as you enter, is an impressive temperature controlled wine room. Wines range from $25 - $4500 per bottle. Needless to say, they have a very nice selection of wines from both popular and well known wineries as well as the smaller, boutique wineries around the world. There is also a nice selection of by-the-glass wines available. If you like reds, try the Heller Estates half bottle on their menu. It is luscious!

The restaurant seating area is intimate. It is dark but not too dark to see by so you won’t need to light up your cell phone to see the menu. The ambiance gives the impression of quiet luxury. The staff is attentive, efficient and knowledgeable. The concierge/manager has been there for a while and is very, very good at his job. He used to be a server and remembers what we ordered even though he only served us twice and that was over a year ago!

The menu changes seasonally with nightly specials and the Chef offers exotic meals made with ostrich, wild boar, fine seafood and the most delicious assortment of accompaniments I’ve experienced in a long time. If you aren’t afraid of foie gras, try Foie Gras Friday where they offer a perfectly seared (and rather generous) portion of foie gras. My personal favourite is the foie gras torchon, which isn’t always available but is always delicious and creatively prepared. It is absolutely delicious – unctuous is the new buzz word, right? Obviously, I have no compunctions about foie gras – don’t judge me. By the way, you do not need to be adventurous to enjoy the Chef’s creations and there are more familiar items on the meal, just in case you aren’t excited about the prospect of eating wild boar or gazelle. If they have it, I highly recommend the Cioppino.

If you need a little liquid courage (before trying ostrich, for example), Cork offers a fully stocked bar and an adept (and kind of cute) bartender. They also have a very talented Sommelier who is expert at pairing delicious wines to compliment your meal.

Reservations are not usually necessary during week nights but are definitely recommended. Weekends are packed by 6pm. The restaurant also offers occasional pre fixe menus for a very reasonable price and they are fantastic!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cork Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.