We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Wine Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D-Vine Wine Bar and Bistro

D-Vine Wine Bar and Bistro
3990 S Alma School Rd, Chandler, AZ 85248-4608
480-782-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 534 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: American, French, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Wine Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We walked over for lunch from The Holiday Inn. We were pleasantly surprised by the ambience, friendly, knowledgable wait staff and a varied menu. We wanted a light lunch and the smoked salmon platter fit the bill perfectly. The delicious salmon was smoked in house. It was beautifully presented and all the accompaniments were fresh and flavorful. We did not find the restaurant noisy when we were there. We thoroughly enjoyed our leisurely lunch, and hope to dine at D-Vine on our next trip to Chandler.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful - new favorite spot in Chandler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wow. Great surprise dinner. Restaurant was crowded which is always a good sign.
Nice happy hour and a different special each night of the week.
I had salmon and butternut squash risotto which was perfect. My dining partner had a scallops salad. The scallops were huge and some of best he's had.
After dinner coffee was fresh and flavorful.
Great wine menu. Different types of dining. Regular tables, high tops, or lounge on a love seat. Nice outdoor patio.
Great night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, love the tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We ordered from the tapas and the regular menu, which ended up being way too much food, but took it home for leftovers. The street tacos and jalapeño poppers were a definite favorite! Inside was too loud since they had a singer with an amplifier turned up way too much for the size of the room. Service was very good, and all of the staff checked on you routinely to make sure you weren't lacking for anything. We will definitely be back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's a Keeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Been here a handful of times now: some for drinks and snacks, some for full meals, and once for a wine dinner. The food was uniformly excellent on all occasions. The calamari is not your typical fried blobs with dipping sauce; it is actually plated with a sweet chili sauce and there are some assorted veggies in there, too. It's a good size for two people to split as an appetizer, or you could make a solo meal of it. The chipotle hummus is excellent (and pretty jazzy). There are daily specials, although the website is not always kept up to date with the info. Very good small pizzas. Friendly service, but the kitchen can be a little slow (it's worth the wait, however). Reasonable selection of wines, but not spectacular. One handy feature: if you plan to make a heavy night of it, there's a hotel across the parking lot, so no need to risk becoming a DUI statistic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Creative and delicious dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I'm sure their wine is fantastic, but I didn't come here for the wine. I was visiting my dad, looking for non-mainstream fare, and this place was near his house. What a great find! It's a lovely restaurant, with delicious, well-conceived food combinations throughout all the menu courses. I had a great beet salad when I was there, and a nice, light, thin crust pizza. The wait staff was very kind, knowledgable, and attentive. Only drawback to the physical space is that there is a lot of ambient noise, it really resounds and reverberates off the walls and ceilings. My dad is 72, so it made it hard for him to hear. So if you're going with someone with older ears, try to sit in the corner, or go at a less busy time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D-Vine Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to D-Vine Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D-Vine Wine Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.