We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok..but...really? Marriott... shame on you.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center to your Saves list
Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 South Price Road, Chandler, AZ 85286   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast Deal
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok..but...really? Marriott... shame on you.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was my 2nd stay at this property...(I am a long-time Marriott rewards customer). Was THRILLED with the Fairfield side of this hotel 2 years ago...no complaints AT ALL. This time, I got a GREAT rate for Courtyard side so I gave that a try. Love this property's location, design, ease of parking, pool area, lobbies, etc. Very classy looking place. Hop right on the freeway to get ANYwhere. Great Mall = Shopping right next door! Check in was somewhat easy, the clerk informed me I had a "great rate" but when I asked about possibly getting a 3rd night at another "great rate" ... he completely ignored me, TWICE. Ok...nothing like making me feel welcome! Then I asked if my room would have a microwave. He said that some rooms did, some didn't...he said If I got a room without, he'd send one up (Hmmmm.... why not just give me a room WITH one?) So ... off I went to my room. (Note that the Hotel was NOT full at all this weekend). I arrived to find No Microwave. So... I called the front desk right away and (thankfully) got an answer...he said he'd send one up. And so I waited. and waited. and waited. And went for a walk to get ice. To find out that there is only 1 ice machine per floor, and my floor, and the next floor and the one below it, ALL WERE WITHOUT ice!! Finally found one on the 6th floor!! Returned to room, still no microwave. Got ready for my event, still no microwave. Finally left, hoping it would be delivered in my absence. It was in the room, on the desk, when I arrived after 9pm... I looked inside... OMG..it was FILTHY with exploded food parts!! I was disgusted!! I tried calling the front desk. No Answer....(Several times....no Answer). I took out the glass turntable (most dirtiest part) and wiped out the rest so I could use the thing. (I need it to heat a heating pad, not for food). I left the filthy glass part on the desk with a note for the maid. The next day, the dirty glass turntable was completely GONE (microwave remained, with the inside STILL FILTHY!). Really?? Who does that? I was too busy on this trip to deal with stuff like this. Also, I will add that the towels in the bath were very worn looking and there were tiles missing from the flooring/baseboard. The pool area was unkempt and scattered furniture/towels everywhere. SO not Marriott-style. SO disappointing! Maybe I got the great rate for a bargain-basement run-down room? Or, maybe..because it was Easter weekend and staff was shorthand. I was asked at checkout about my stay and I mentioned the microwave incident. Apologies and promises of more points to my account. Hmmm. Turned out ...just empty promises. Email received after my stay, again I asked for them to make it right. Still waiting... C'mon Marriott. Really? Hilton's starting to look better and better.

Room Tip: choose a higher up floor where the ice machines DO work; stay on Fairfield side if you can; ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ K, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you Moniclarke for your response,

We are sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfactory. Please contact the hotel immediately so we can fix this situation completely for you.

We do appreciate your business and value our customer satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
9
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was a great selection for my team meeting. Clean, accessible, convenient to many restaurants and activities.

Conference Room setup and service was ideal for my needs. Provided projector, screen, TV/Monitor, white board and easel.

Ashley was very friendly and checked on us at least once per day while the attendants came in 2-3 times per day to ensure coffee was warm, drinks were available, and clear any rubbish.

Thanks so much! We will be back!

Mark

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have used this Hotel many times and I wanted to thank them for the hospitality they gave to me and my company. We used the two conference rooms for training and they have had everything set up for me early every morning.

Room Tip: The even numbers are in the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Was only there for a business meeting. Arrived over an hour early thinking I could grab some breakfast. Lots of empty seats and #2 in line. Took 10 mins to get my coffee and had void the charge for breakfast as ran out of time. They give out numbers so servers know which meal goes where however the servers walk around like blind bats wondering where the meal goes. Very unorganized and no wonder the kitchen is a mess. Had I known I would have walked over to the Fairfield Inn which is connected to the courtyard and just had the buffet there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFFIFashionCenterGM, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello Mr Ka7fns and thank you for your stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott.

I do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. Our attached property the Fairfield Inn and Suites does have a buffet that is not made to order, though our Bistro is. Your happiness and satisfaction is our priority and at any time during, or after your stay you feel unsatisfied please contact out Hotel and speak to a Manager for immediate remedying of the situation!

We would be happy to help and further assist you in your desire to stay with us on your next visit to Chandler, AZ!

Thank you
DJ Kooner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

It's your normal Courtyard layout. Friendly staff makes it stand out, clean, quite rooms. I wouldn't keep coming back if it wasn't. Live music on some weekdays. Food is ok nothing special but if you don't feel like going out after a long day is nice to have available.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFFIFashionCenterGM, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello Jdk_mn and thank you for your response. We pride ourselves on friendly and attentive staff to help create a wonderful experience for our Guests. Our Bistro is a made-to-order restaurant and is open during breakfast and dinner hours (as well as a full bar). We are conveniently located adjacent to the Phoenix-Chandler Fashion Center mall here in Chandler which provides over 15 popular restaurants we offer complimentary shuttle service to!

If you have any additional questions,comments or concerns please do not hesitate to call.

Dj Kooner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a super experience with this particularCourtyard in Chandler!
Great location, right off the freeway, superior staff…we felt that we were
important and they wanted to support us! Jordon was at the desk and very
nice, thoughtful and accommodating.
Anna on the staff that booked our meeting space was so helpful even when
I kept calling back to change my requests.

I would definitely stay at this Courtyard! You will be so PLEASED to have stay
with Courtyard. I feel that the Marriott always treats us with respect!

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFFIFashionCenterGM, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Pleased563,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we appreciate it and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you on your next visit to Chandler!
Thank you,

DJ Kooner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

After staying at an Embassy Suites for business in the same location, I transferred over to this courtyard for a weekend of youth hockey and to enjoy time with the family. But after staying at the other hotel, my opinion became jaded. From the moment I stepped into the courtyard, the staff made you feel like you were imposing on their time. They couldn't be bothered in customer service.

For example, the staff on the first night made the outside fire pit available by turning it on. The second night when we asked, the man working the front desk gave the eye roll and then stated it was broken. When the adults were using the patio area, they informed us we were being too loud when all we were doing was having conversation. This is the same staff that allowed 9 year olds to run up and down their halls, slamming doors and wreaking havoc on the hotel and not doing anything about it. Plus, the second floor smelled of marijuana, but that was ok for the staff as well.

Another instance, the overnight desk clerk (Franklin) did offer to get me a fresh bag with ice from the Starbucks counter located in the lobby. However, the next night, the lady working the Starbucks area could not do that for me when I asked. I know what you're saying. Just go to the end of the hall and get ice. However, their ice machines were on timers and didn't work after a certain time. YOU HAD TO GO TO THE LOBBY TO GET ICE.

They never informed anyone of any breakfast options. However, the hotel is attached to a Fairfield with a complimentary breakfast bar. Wait! Marriott wants those that stay on the Courtyard side to "buy" breakfast, and Fairfield customers (cheaper rate) to get complimentary breakfast? Terrible set up.

The rooms were nice and cleaned to the minimum (Dust was underneath the bathroom counter). For $149 a night, and being a Courtyard, I expected much more, including better service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFFIFashionCenterGM, General Manager at Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Mark C,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and share your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory, as far as the stated issue with the ice machines, our ice machines are available 24/7, however, we are more than happy to provide ice if asked at the front desk. At the Courtyard we do not include breakfast in the rate, however we do have our Bistro which serves a variety of made to order meals instead of a traditional buffet. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, and hope that your trip was still enjoyable. If you have any further concerns please feel free to contact the Courtyard directly.
Sincerely,

DJ Kooner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center

Address: 1100 South Price Road, Chandler, AZ 85286
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Phoenix Chandler hotel located off Highway 202 just 20 minutes from downtown via I-10 offers thoughtful amenities for the busy, tech-savvy traveler. Our state-of-the-art lobby features individual media pods, free WiFi and interactive GoBoard(R) for the most up-to-minute news, traffic & weather. Business travelers and vacationing families love our hotel rooms with free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. Some rooms even offer mountain views. When you stay with us, you'll enjoy healthy meal options at our onsite Bistro serving breakfast with Starbucks(R) coffee and dinner with bar service. The most convenient of Chandler hotels, we're minutes from Chandler Mall and offer a free shuttle service to the mall and nearby corporations (7am-10pm). After a busy day in the Phoenix area, take advantage of our fitness center, outdoor pool & patio with fire pit. With rates typically lower than downtown options and close proximity to Fashion Center, Diablo Stadium and Phoenix Raceway, we're the top choice of Chandler hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Hotel Chandler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.