We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish & service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
7151 W Ray Rd., Chandler, AZ
+1 480-705-7697
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 519 restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N 54th Street
Transit: Bus stop at Ray Road & 54th Street
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great fish & service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to go for a great seafood dish! Although we usually steer clear of corporate chain restaurants, we make an except for Roy's! I have never been disappointed in the food, atmosphere, or service. Our favorites are the pork belly appetizer & of course, the butter fish & dynamite topped barramundi. We crave these dishes!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    62
    15
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Special Treat at Roy's Supper Club Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Roy's always emails me about their special events, like their prix fixed meals, of which we occasionally take advantage. When Roy's sent me an email about their supper club a few weeks ago we signed up right away. The supper club was held in the private dining room, where four large tables were set up and nearly filled by diners. My husband and I didn't know anyone there, but quickly made friends with the couple across the table from us. I don't know what I enjoyed more, the meal or our new friends. We had so much fun. For the supper club Roy's Chef offered three unique dishes for $35 that could be paired with three unique cocktails for $23. I didn't have the cocktails, but tasted all of my husband's. The first course was a heirloom tomato and mango consomme' and a ceviche, marinated for several days ahead with shrimp, calamari and lobster. It was delicious and paired with a fruited infused cosmopolitan like tequila cocktail that was very good. The second course was a duck breast confit paired with a jalapeno teguila margarita like cocktail, spicy! The last course was a smoked pork chicharonnes paired with a Manhattan like tequila cocktail. The chef and the mixologist walked through the preparation of each as we ate and were informative and entertaining. What an amazing experience to try these original dishes and drinks and hear from the creators about them. Everything was delicious and the whole experience was just so much fun. We will definitely go back to the next supper club event.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Happy Hour offers great options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Recently I've gone twice to Roy's to grab a little light fare and enjoy some unique flavors. The happy hour menu offers more than a half dozen great choices that my wife would consider trying (she eats only fish & vegetarian options) and several more for meat lovers. Dishes are well prepared and offer unique flavors and reasonable portions. The drink menu also offers something for everyone. We tried a good number of dishes and each had a drink & the bill was less than $40. We left very full & satisfied.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Foodie magnet - great for business or special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Roy's is a special treat, with a wide range of interesting twists on seafood and land fare. The service was truly exceptional and made the evening very memorable. As a first-time visitor, I felt like I knew the staff like old friends, which made it a relaxed and fun atmosphere.

Appetizer highlights include the lobster pot stickers. And do not miss the dessert menu, which is stuffed with great options (some need 20 minute lead times!)

Yes, it's priced above the competition, but you absolutely get what you pay for, and if you ask me, this quality of food and experience is worth the small premium.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“It was a special treat to be here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The atmosphere was fabulous and the food was unusual and tasty. The food presentation was beautiful! We had a coupon so it helped with our expensive food. This is a place that you go for special occasions, and a coupon helps!
Everyone was helpful and friendly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.