We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday at Roy's Hawaiian Fusion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
7151 W Ray Rd., Chandler, AZ
+1 480-705-7697
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 523 restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N 54th Street
Transit: Bus stop at Ray Road & 54th Street
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday at Roy's Hawaiian Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Celebrated our son's birthday at Roy's, first time there, and had a wonderful time. Service was spot on, very friendly and I would definitely want the same waitress again. All three of us loved our drinks, the two appetizzers we tried and our meals. I got the Barramundi and it was one of the best fish dinners I have had in quite awhile. It was a little spicy (from the rice?), moist and flavorful. Knowing it to be a birthday, our waitress took a picture of us and printed it out right there! Of course, a small treat at the end for the birthday boy.
Definitely on the high end of my dining price range, but I was happy with our choice and will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    62
    15
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Mahalo for bringing such a wonderful restaurant to the desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I spent his birthday in January at Roy's and enjoyed so much we came back for Easter bunch. We were greeted both times with smiles and a great atmosphere, Roy's is absolutely beautiful with amazing food and sevice like no other. I highly recomommend when looking for an all around perfect experience you choose Roy's, and don't for the chocolate souffle because it is the perfect way to end your night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I have ate at Roy's a couple of times and both times were outstanding. Their service is always started with a smile backed up with a knowledge of their menu. The food is top notch from appetizers to main menu. I highly recommend Roy's if you like great service backed with better food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Off performance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Hawaiian it is not...... Fusion the price. Food poorly prepared. Cold on a searing plate. Would not recommend by any measure.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in the desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had spent the day hiking at Tonto National Monument and driving the Apache Trail. The restaurants we encountered out there looked a little questionable so we munched on trail mix and planned on a really good dinner! After returning to our hotel in Chandler, the front desk clerk recommended Roy's. My wife and I usually don't go to chain restaurants, but since Roy's other restaurants started in Hawaii, we thought we'd give it a try! From the service to the atmosphere to (most importantly) the food, it was a great experience and just what we needed! We had a glass of wine in the bar since we didn't have reservations, but the same great service applied to the bartenders--very friendly! At dinner, we shared the pear and arugala salad which was fresh and light. My wife had the scallops which she said were perfectly prepared and delicious. I had the teryaki grilled salmon--excellent. Would definitely eat at Roy's again--no matter what city!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.