We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harold's Cave Creek Corral

Harold's Cave Creek Corral
6895 East Cave Creek Road, Cave Creek, AZ 85331
480-488-1906
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 62 Restaurants in Cave Creek
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In the 1930s, a man with the unlikely name of Johnny Walker built a bar called the Cave Creek Corral. Walker’s creation was an instant sensation with cowboys, playboys, politicians and laborers who gathered to drink A-1 beers at wooden tables under wanted posters.Harold Gavagan and his wife Ruth bought the Cave Creek Corral in the mid 1950s. Harold was quite a character, a depression-era Irish kid, a tough, but entertaining guy. Harold’s was a favorite movie location for Hollywood, attracting the likes of Dan Aykroyd, Bob Hope, Lynda Carter, Waylon Jennings and Dick Van Dyke. Cave Creek was not a short easy ride from Phoenix, in an effort to get visitors to Cave Creek, Harold acquired a trained lion and tiger act to entertain patrons.Once visitors were at Harold’s, he was concerned that they didn’t drink and stay long enough. So the building to the east of the restaurant became a bunkhouse, renting space for over night visitors.celebrities. Enjoy the fun atmosphere, interesting people and great food every day. We feature live country and western music Thursday-Sunday nights.Take a few minutes to browse the photographs on the walls of the characters and friends that frequent Harold’s. Our Cowboy, Sunset and Patio Rooms are perfect for your next event. Weddings  Divorces  Anniversaries  Affairs Receptions  Meetings  BirthdaysHost your next party with us or we will be happy to deliver the party to you.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great local place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a great local place with much local atmosphere for food and drink. Prices are reasonable and the portions are large. If you are in Cave Creek and you are not to fussy, you will enjoy this place to watch sports or for entertainment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    76
    38
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Cute place, dire service, worse food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

And the tiitle sums it up. The interior is western-cute, but tired and grimy. The service has to be experienced to be believed, its so awful. I ended up going to the bar inside to order everything, as we'd been ignored for so long outside.. And.. when the food arrived it was AWFUL. Ceviche is supposed to have fish in it, right? This bowlful had maybe 6 or 7 wrinkled, red, pickled? bay shrimp in it, and the rest appeared to be canned tomatoes and some sliced cucumber. Really unpleasant. I've been here a few times for dining, breakfast, lunch and dinner - nothing has impressed and the cleanliness of the place is questionable. The dance lessons are good, but i'd recommend you steer clear of dining and drinking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great food and service. Excellent hamburgers. We had fun watching the line dancing being taught. The restaurant was busy, but the service was good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Might return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had my first visit to Harold's last Saturday with friends at their invitation. It was late afternoon and not overly crowded. We sat outside on the patio. Very cool southwest atmosphere & lots of space. The food was really tasty but the service was rather slow. Our server seemed overwhelmed and not cheery at all. They could do a better job keeping the place clean too. I might go back but I'm in no hurry. Sometimes great food is ruined by poor management; not taste. What a shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast with a friend. We were in no hurry and the server was very accommodating. The chicken fried steak was very good, and the home fries with green chiles hit the spot. While Harold's is a haunt for locals, I would certainly recommend to tourists. (I am a local)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harold's Cave Creek Corral also viewed

Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Harold's Cave Creek Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harold's Cave Creek Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.