We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sans Souci Restaurant

Le Sans Souci Restaurant
7030 E Bella Vista Dr, Cave Creek, AZ 85331-8606
+1 480-488-2856
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 65 Restaurants in Cave Creek
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“What a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Six of us went here for dinner the other night and we are so glad we did. The man who owns the restaurant is about 84 years old a real French Chef and as delightful as can be. The restaurant itself is rather nondescript but the food and staff are wonderful. We all had different dishes and each was fantastic. Be warned this place is pricey but if you are willing to pay for good food and service, this is a place for you. For desert we had a Crepe Suzette made at tableside and a Chocolate Mousse. They were both to die for but the Mousse was like eating chocolate air, GREAT!! We talked to two other couples who are locals and they could not speak highly enough of this restaurant and now we know why. Enjoy!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Like being in the French countryside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

San Souci has been in Cave Creek area for many years. It is superb traditional French food. Louie, the elderly owner, continues to be present each day, and brings the true French spirit to the place. There are many patrons over the age of 65 which is just fine but it is sad younger people do not try this wonderful spot. If anyone has the desire to visit what is an authentic French experience, do not miss San Souci. And, the ambience is also authentic French countryside dining. Wonderful!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Perfect French atmosphere, all French food and the best. Very warm and professional service provided to customers. Positive energy throughout the restaurant!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We recently had brunch here. We heard from several people the restaurant was very good. All four of us ordered off the brunch menu. Two of us ordered the dover sole. The serve advised they were out of the fish. So, we quickly selected other items. Our waiter had an off-putting sense of humor and was somewhat absent which was interesting as the restaurant was far from full. The bus boy/server was far more attentive and personable. We were much surprised to hear our waiter recommending the sole to patrons who came in a good 30-45 minutes after we had been seated. We were confounded by this. The dessert cart consisted of 5 items. I go the last piece of carrot cake! No one even acknowledged us as we got up to leave. The decor leaves much to be desired - while it is clean it desperately needs updating. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, good food but not exceptional.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Best dish was the escargot. Very traditional French cuisine.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sans Souci Restaurant also viewed

Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Le Sans Souci Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sans Souci Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.