We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carefree Resort Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carefree Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Carefree Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Carefree Resort Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently enjoyed a marvelous business/vacation experience @ beautiful Carefree Resort in AZ with a group of 34 golfers. The accommodations and amenities were spacious, very clean, reasonably priced and pleasant. The mountains and desert view was awesome and a super escape from the cities. The town of Carefree was delightful. Several exceptional golf courses are nearby. The entire staff from hospitality greeters/concierge/shuttle drivers and front desk personnel to dining/bar managers and wait staff to housekeeping and administrative sales and accounting staff were all efficient, knowledgeable, courteous, and friendly. The restaurant/bar is gorgeous and serves delicous meals. Any issues and/or requests were resolved quickly in a respectful manner. William and also Terri Zimmer were exceptional in their service to us and also to the group of golfers our son's company brought to Carefree. We will definitely recommend your resort to our friends, business associates and family. Sincerely, Mike and Sandy Kilgore of FL

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the pool and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    132
    77
    55
    43
See reviews for
117
143
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Carefree Resort, great escape from the Valley! The rooms were nice, comfortable and clean. Shuttle service to Cave Creek was convenient and Audrey provided the BEST customer service. Terri Zimmer went above and beyond to offer the BEST customer service. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We used to spend family Christmases at this resort, renting an entire villa building and utilizing all the resort had to offer. We haven't been back in at least 7 years and we were stunned to see the deterioration in the new resort employees and the resort itself when we came back for a short stay. We were told it went through a foreclosure and the new management updated the resort to be very Palm Springs-like. Unfortunately, it is. It is dark and dreary and modern and so unlike the original concept. In some areas it is almost as if they couldn't make up their minds on whether to keep the cowboy culture or not. The resort certainly does not look like their website. Our rooms were across the street from the hotel and altho recently cosmetically renovated, we could have been at a Holiday Inn Express. Adding insult, the air conditioning didn't work and was loud and noisy. The man who came out to work on was apparently very unhappy to be there and never did get it working right. Putting aside our disappointment with the aesthetics and furnishings, what happened to the people who work there? I am surprised to see some of the compliments to the staff as the only person who was interested in our well being was a young man named Scott who has been there for a long time. We remembered Scott from our prior visits. Even the waitress could have cared less and that is not the way it used to be. She was guaranteed her tip because there were 12 of us total, otherwise we wouldn't have left her a dime. We were so disappointed in every aspect. In my opinion it would have been better if they closed the place down than did what they did!

Room Tip: If you have to stay in Carefree, stay down the street. I understand the resort still offers some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Certainly not the newest or most luxurious resort in the Phoenix area...but who care?!?! Great value, great service, and a nice stay for us. This was our second visit in a year. The staff is super friendly, relaxed (not pretenscious), and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I'm being generous when I say average. The front desk is polite, but clueless. They saw I was laden with bags and did not offer to help me. When they assigned my room they didn't even offer to assit -- Just pointed me in the direction of my room.

Food at the restaurant is good. But the service is a joke. Twenty minutes for toast and coffee.

I paid for an upgraded room and found stained rugs and scratched furniture. The "Patio" consisted of two uncomforatble chairs and a view of... nothing.

After I booked my room I found it for more than half on Groupon -- Management would do nothing.
Very limited spa hours -- No on to.ld me this when I booked. Kind of insulting.
At the end of the day, the staff could do better, and so can the us travelers.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

All staff were friendly and professional. It is great that the resort is away from the city and quiet - a perfect place to relax! The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. I called to check-in early and it was no problem. The service - on all levels - was excellent. "Room service" at the pool was quick and efficient and very accommodating. This is a great place for a "stay-cation" for all those in the Phoenix area. The price was right and the place was serene and relaxing. The small botanical garden is well-kept and serene - with bunnies hopping around. The management was professional, friendly and respectful. Rooms are very roomy and comfortable. I had a spa-pedicure from Carol who was friendly, professional and gave a very relaxing spa-pedicure. Be sure to take a walk around the grounds. The ground are very relaxing, quiet and beautiful. I found all staff from the front desk, to the waiters/waitresses and housekeeping to be friendly. They presented the attitude that they want you to enjoy staying here and that they love their job! If you enjoy great service, relaxing amenities and a warm welcome - COME HERE! This is a great place to get away from care and worry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I were overworked and in despirate need of relaxation, peace, and quiet.
We planned on checking in after work, but due to unforseen circumstance found ourselves having to babysit our 19 month old grandson that evening. We decided to go ahead and take him with us since we planned on a 2 night stay. We arrived very late and was impressed by the beautiful well decorated modern natural stone lobby with fireplace. We were two very tired people greeted by a very friendly and professional young man named Edger. He greeted my grandson who instantly liked Edgar at first glance. While busily checking us in, Edgar continued to entertain my grandson by responding back to my grandson's babbling who was espressing his excitement. Edgar understood we needed a pack and play the first night and a room with microwave and refrigerator to meet my grandson's needs. The lady who drove the cart (bell hop) was very kind and friendly and offered to lead the way to show us where to park.
She even took the time to have conversation with me about children which was very nice. She later brought us a bag of ice since since we could not locate the ice machine at first. She was very pleasant, customer focused, and really exceeded our expectations. We walked towards our room and found that someone was already there setting up our pack and play for my grandson to sleep in. Such a great way to welcome us. We really appreciated the warm greeting. We loved the very clean well kept grounds especially at night. The natural stone was easy to walk on with bare feet even during the day in middle of summer. Loved the lanterns lit all over the grounds and oversized outdoor couches overlooking the pool area. Loved the fire pit by the pool. The desert botanical garden was well lit at night. We really enjoyed our balcony view the second night overlooking the pool and botantical gardens and babbling brook. Really enjoyed walking through the property at night viewing the mountains and stars. The peace and quiet was much appreciated. Thank you for keeping your prices affordable at your restaurant. We loved the food and ate there for all of our meals during our stay. We truely appreciate everything and plan to return again and again. Very memborable staycation!!! Thank you!
- The Swartwood's.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carefree Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Address: 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carefree Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree Resort has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation of all meeting space, public areas, resort guest rooms, Lariat Restaurant and Lounge and launched the all new Sonoran Suites, a boutique experience within the Resort. Experience authentic Arizona, located amidst high Sonoran Desert natural preserves 1.5 miles north of Scottsdale. The Resort grounds are filled with towering 20' Saguaro, giant Ocotillo, desert wildflowers, and Prickly Pear Cactus. Reserve one of our Villas, if you are looking extra space and want the comforts of home. Equipped with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room and are available with one or two bedrooms. Our friendly staff can arrange popular destination activities such as scooter rentals, bike rentals, golf, desert jeep tours, hot air balloon rides, and other adventures. The Resort features a five treatment room Spa with full spa and hair salon services, five lighted Tennis Courts, two heated swimming pools, and a complete Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Carefree Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Hotel Carefree
Carefree Resort And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carefree Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.