We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Experience - Loved the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Carefree Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Carefree Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Average Experience - Loved the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our third trip to Phoenix for baseball spring training and my husband and I decided we wanted out of the city and go to a more laid back area. After some research we came across Carefree. The town is wonderful, relaxing, good shopping, awesome food and carefree. We would come back to this town in a heart beat. We are looking at it for retirement.

Our resort was nice but is in need of some changes. Our room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also very nice but needed better lighting. Dark. The grounds were beautiful and pool was heated. We also enjoyed talking with the staff, they were great at giving us directions and general small talk.

What it needs is this, everyday all times of the day the water pressure fluctuation and the pipes by our room made this crazy noise. (#1 worst thing) The ice machine was another annoyance. Our room was the last one 267. Walls seem a bit thin because we heard our neighbors talk and talk and talk. The outlets in the bathroom did not work. Make sure you put the do not disturb sign on your door, we made that mistake once. A knock on the door at 7:45am was all it took. Lastly, keep your patio door closed because the do yard work very early also, another morning wake up call at 7:30 am to the lawn being mowed.

This resort has a lot of potential with the right care. I hope that they are able to invest more into the rooms and other condo's that just sit empty. I will keep this resort on my list because I feel that every place needs a second chance. With that said, I really hope this resort continues their awesome customer service and continues to improve a gem of a resort that could be a diamond.

Room Tip: Not by major doors or pool. Can be loud because of the shape of resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    121
    68
    50
    40
See reviews for
109
134
28
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I love to stay here for our anniversary the first week of April. The location is so relaxing. The weather at this time of year is always perfect for hanging poolside and hiking Pinnacle Peak nearby. The rooms have been redone and for this stay, we got a free upgrade to a King Deluxe room on the first floor in front of the botanical garden and just steps from the pool. The room was huge and beautiful and we loved sitting on our patio overlooking the cacti and desert trees filled with happy birds drinking our coffee in the am and our wine in the evening. These rooms are very soundproof. We never heard our neighbors above or next door the whole time. The service at the hotel is always pleasant and very good. We had lunch by the pool one day and the prime rib special on Saturday night. The food is good and reasonably priced. Be sure to check out nearby Pinnacle Peak. The trail (out and back two hour hike) is beautiful in the springtime!

Room Tip: If you want to hang out by the pool, try to get a room in the main building. Do not stay in the Vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

One of the worst experiences I've had and the staff made it worse. I left my engagement ring (which originally belonged to my mother-in-law who passed away) in the toiletries basket in the bathroom (dumbest mistake of my life.) When I realized it was missing, I remembered exactly where I left it, called the hotel and returned to the hotel to claim it. The hotel manager couldn't find the ring and said she had just spoken to the housekeeper and she did not see it either. When I asked if the housekeeper could come to the room to help explain how she cleaned out the tray, she said no. When I asked to look through trash/laundry, she said they did. When the police arrived 10 minutes later to speak with the housekeeper, the manager said she went home for the day. I have tried to work with the hotel with the help of police for 3 months now and I continue to find unhelpful and unfriendly people. Aside from the loss of my ring, I found the rooms to be dated and the food mediocre at best. Also, the lack of security is discomforting. I would never recommend this place to anyone- in fact, I will warn people to stay away!!!

Room Tip: Don't book here, but if you HAVE to stay here and you are a single lady traveling alone, ask abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for Spring Break. We stayed for 4 nights. We booked through AAA. The price seemed reasonable given the time of year initially. Room did not contain microwave that we were promised. Resort employee blamed AAA and said "they do not know what they are doing." Also my final bill included added charge of $17/ night "resort fee." If this is a "resort" it is the worst one I have ever stayed at. I hardly consider a swimming pool a resort. Also the toilets are very loud. You can here all your neighbors flushing all hours of the day. Bottom line the location is great. The room is average. The "resort" is poor. The staff at the desk is rude and unconcerned.

Room Tip: Spend a lot of money to rent a condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I loved this resort -- one of the best I've experienced at such a reasonable price. The grounds are beautifully & naturally planted with so many amazing desert cacti. The pool & nearby jacuzzi were wonderful (great lounge chairs) & enhanced with a nearby waterfall & stream running thru more desert fauna. The standard king room was much larger than expected, attractively decorated, the bath great & the king bed was incredible. We chose the mountain view (I see plenty of pools in FL) & watched quail & other birds from our balcony. Loved wandering the nearby towns of Carefree & Cave Creek, horseback riding thru desert & mountain scenery, all covered in spring flowers -- breathtaking. This was a perfect time of year to visit AZ & we hope to return.

Room Tip: Second floor standard king room (2209) was very large & beautifully appointed with great bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to Burger night at the Lariat Grill in Carefree on their Thursday night special. The menu consists of a burger with cheese and bacon and all the fixings with/fries/sweet potato fries or onion rings and includes either a beer or glass of wine for under $10. We didn't have reservations but the manager was very accomodating and we were seated quickly in the dining room of the resort. Much more upscale than we expected and the waitress was there immediately and attentive through our meal. The burgers were cooked to perfection and so delicious we will definitely return. Other specials are available throughout the week and if anything like their burgers would be worth the drive to Carefree!

Room Tip: Will make a reservation next time we go now that we know how busy the resort restaurant is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I needed to find a place near Carefree on short notice to visit a client. This place turned out to be perfect in many ways. The hotel has some history to it, once having been a remote retreat for Hollywood actors in the 1950's. it is not luxurious by today's standards but very comfortable. The rooms are quite large and the grounds are very nice. It was the perfect place for my business stay...

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
I am glad we made your business trip more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carefree Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Address: 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carefree Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree Resort has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation of all meeting space, public areas, resort guest rooms, Lariat Restaurant and Lounge and launched the all new Sonoran Suites, a boutique experience within the Resort. Experience authentic Arizona, located amidst high Sonoran Desert natural preserves 1.5 miles north of Scottsdale. The Resort grounds are filled with towering 20' Saguaro, giant Ocotillo, desert wildflowers, and Prickly Pear Cactus. Reserve one of our Villas, if you are looking extra space and want the comforts of home. Equipped with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room and are available with one or two bedrooms. Our friendly staff can arrange popular destination activities such as scooter rentals, bike rentals, golf, desert jeep tours, hot air balloon rides, and other adventures. The Resort features a five treatment room Spa with full spa and hair salon services, five lighted Tennis Courts, two heated swimming pools, and a complete Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carefree Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Hotel Carefree
Carefree Resort And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carefree Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.