We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity at the Boulders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   34631 North Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85377   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Boulders@Play
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Serenity at the Boulders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

After a weary 1am arrival due to flight delays I was welcomed to the Boulders by the most charming and attentive staff, beautiful accommodations, and awoke to a stunning view. A spectacular experience on all levels. Kudos to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    209
    93
    61
    35
See reviews for
217
675
49
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Staff were excellent and facilities are extremely nice. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We used a casita for one night and a villa for two nights when our guests arrived. Both types were high quality. We ate at the resort and at a couple nearby restaurants. Shuttle service was excellent around the property. Highly recommend the Spotted Donkey for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Boulders is the most relaxing, serene retreat. We return every chance we get. The guest services are exceptional (especially Ron) who takes the utmost care of our every need.
The surrounding grounds are desert "spectacular" and are perfect for an early morning walk or run around the golf course. The pool is a great quiet place to unwind surrounded by the boulders and with the sound of the waterfall in the background. Ahhhhhhh:)
Headed out for my 50th. No place I'd rather be. Thanks to all of you at the Boulders that keep me coming back...

Room Tip: You cant go wrong but we prefer the free standing or single level casitas:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The resort is amazing! My wife and I went for some relaxing time away and to spruce up our golf game. Taking lessons with Donald Crawley at the Boulders Academy was a fantastic experience and definitely a highlight of our time at the Boulders. After our swing video review and some must needed adjustments and coaching by Donald, we had a great golf round on the South Course. Donald's style and approach is welcoming and was easy to adapt our games to for an immediate improvement. We will definitely be back to The Boulders and plan to spend more time with Donald as he helps us continue to work on our golf game. It was an all round great stay/golf experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear StAlbertan,

Thank you for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your golf lesson with Donald Crawley. Yes, he is a great instructor and has been ranked as one of the "Top 100 Golf Instructors in America" by his peers. We will share you kind words with him, and we hope that you will return for another golf "tune-up" with us soon!

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just took a 3 day girl trip get away and The Boulders and we loved it so much we to make it an annual event. We rented one of their 3 bedroom villas. Beautiful, clean, comfortable beds! Great service, truly beyond great service. The spa was excellent and the entire property is kept in top shape at all times. Would be a great romantic get away as well. Highly Recommend you book a say at this resort!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Melissa C,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your girls trip! We are so glad you and your ladies had such a wonderful time at The Boulders. We hope our three-bedroom villa gave you more than enough space that you needed to spread out and relax.

Thank you again for sharing with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just spent 4 beautiful days at The Boulders for a 3-day golf clinic with Donald Crawley. He is very deserved of his ranking in the best golf instructors list! He taught me more in 3 days than I learned in the past two years, and always with a smile and great demeanor. He is a real asset of a The a Boulders.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and the grounds were amazing. Walking through the boulders you could get a nice view of Scottsdale and Phoenix. The staff were so helpful and so polite. Felt like a Rock Star! Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 34631 North Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.