We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boulders - friendly golf resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   34631 North Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85377   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Brights Grove, Canada
1 review
“Boulders - friendly golf resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Boulders Golf courses provided a beautiful challenge for us during our stay. Both golf courses full of gorgeous views. The golf course staff - in the clubhouse, starters, course marshalls, and ground crews are all friendly and helpful. The courses are in excellent condition.
I would definitely recommend this golf holiday to my friends as a possibility for another 'girl's golf adventure'. Everyone was very professional and courteous to us during our week stay. I would definitely recommend booking your Tee times before you travel as the course was busy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    188
    77
    52
    32
See reviews for
191
625
47
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

You can't complain about the surroundings, they're magnificent. Our casita was second floor and you can see its age is catching up with it. Patio open below to guests balcony, not private at all. Needs some work in renovation. Food was good, staff were friendly but honestly at $600+/night it's about $200+ overpriced.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Went here for a work meeting. The resort was beautiful. I was in a 3 bedroom casita and ended up having the smallest room because I showed up last. The bathroom in my bedroom was a little old and could use some updating but overall the casita was very impressive. The only problem with this resort is everything is a little far so you do need to call and have a shuttle pick you up and drop you off everywhere you go. Besides that it is a very peaceful place. I got a massage at the spa which was amazing. We had dinner at the Spotted Donkey on property which was really good. Nice resort if you want to do a golf getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at the Boulders fifteen years ago and I decided to bring my golf group back a few weeks ago. The natural beauty of the resort is unquestioned but the professionalism and friendliness of the staff was exemplary. Ron Moss in the reservation department was instrumental in making sure that we had casitas that met our every need. The bell staff was was very efficient and personable when we arrived and our car was always ready when we needed to leave the property. Our Sonorian casitas were quite large and nothing beats going to bed with with juniper wood burning in your fireplace. If you are interested in a relaxing vacation with attentive staff in beautiful Arizona then I think you would be wise to visit the Boulders Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Boulders is a fantastic facility. The beauty & majesty of the boulders, 12 million years old, is breathtaking. The staff is superior, anticipating every need. You literally do not need to leave the property should you so choose.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived here after a stay in Sedona with a cracking vista, so were disappointed with our bedroom view - a large boulder literally three feet from our patio doors blocking any light! We did try to change rooms but were told nothing was available, not entirely sure this was true as the resort did not feel full at any time.
However one doesn't stay in a bedroom all day and we were here to relax and play golf. The pools were very nice, we preferred the spa pool and we also enjoyed playing golf here, our first experience of desert golf.
Staff drive you around the resort as it is rather large to walk in the heat from spa, to rooms to main lodge. Cannot fault these guys. Spa staff were courteous too. However the young men in reception don't seem to have attended the school of charm, it's a shame as they are the first point of contact and the last.
We ate two evenings in the restaurant in the main hotel and food was very good. Two breakfasts as well in some sort of empty shopping mall, can't fault the breakfast but very strange place, empty units and soulless. We weren't sure if it had just opened and they hadn't filled units or they had all closed down!
The spa facilities are stunning, no expense spared. However I did not have paid for treatments so cannot comment on those.
I realise that we were not in high season, but does a hotel of this quality really have to close their bars at 11pm?
This hotel with a tweak here and there could be one of the best, but it must not rely on the boulders to draw in cliental, it's the very small things that matter.

Room Tip: Even though we asked for a room with a view, we didn't get it, so not sure how you insist you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Montelucia Resort ( tranquil yet not remote) as well as J W Marriott Desert Ridge( family fun with lazy river). This trip we tried out The Boulders. The personal service here surpassed anything we have ever had. From the guard gate to the check-in to the valet service to the spa and pool, we were treated like royalty. The gorgeous landscape and surrounding views are unique.
This is not a high rise building. The resort has tucked into the valleys and hills , little casitas. The valets will take you and your luggage via golf cart to your casita. Our room was on the second floor with a balcony that over looked a wash. Fireplaces in the room make the whole experience so relaxing. We saw havalina families munching on plants in the morning so take time to explore the winding paths through the resort.
At the spa patio we had a spicy breakfast wrap and an awesome cranberry orange muffin.
We enjoyed the pool, gardens, and look out areas around the resort. Top notch everything!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 34631 North Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.