We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Arizona Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   34631 North Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85377   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Boulders@Play
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“True Arizona Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is a true Arizona experience - the staff was wonderful and we had a great time. Not too many kids here but my 12 year old was very impressed. Great 'stay-cation' for us that felt like a full blown vacation. Rooms are gorgeous and the grounds are immaculate. We loved it! thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    209
    94
    61
    35
See reviews for
217
675
49
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at The Boulders, moved from Fall to Summer due to family issues, and inspite of record heat, the staff and service at The Boulders never waivered. From attentive golf cart shuttle drivers to helpful security gate personnel, everyone was working to make the place calm and cool. Even the daily fresh fruit/veggie infused water (comp) was a great touch. The rooms are excellent, large, fully furnished with in room Keurigs, full walk in closets and deep leather chairs. Abundant wildlife but calm and restful. Pool, spa, and running trails wonderful. I'd go back if it was 130 degrees. PS--off season rates are a huge bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We attended a wedding weekend at The Boulders. It was first class! The rooms were comfortable and spotless. Everyone was more than happy to assist at all times. We would definitely stay there again. It is a large resort, but it feels like the place is all yours. The dessert/boulder landscape is breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a great place! Beautiful desert setting, outstanding staff. Every single person there greeted us and gave outstanding service. Laurel the concierge set us up with everything we asked for, and gave great advice on activities. The wait staff and the bell staff were excellent as well. The resort is big, but the bell staff took us around in a golf cart when we asked, and they offered bottles of water when they saw we were headed out for a morning walk. The spa was great as was the jeep trip out into the desert with Lenny. Our room was very roomy, clean, and comfortable. Even with the heat of an Arizona summer, this was a great place to visit, I loved that the flora and fauna of the desert were such an integral art of the design of the resort. Go to the Boulders, you'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our casita was beautiful, private, and provided the level of seclusion we desired so that we had the experience of being alone in our Desert Paradise!

The entire staff was responsive and attentive. Great for solo trip, couples, families, etc! And if you check rates during the Summer, hardly a better value exists!

Room Tip: Check to make sure your back patio has an open vista- and is not looking into another Casita. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The Boulders has been on our list of places to stay for several years, so on a trip to Vegas , my husband and I decided to stay in Arizona for several days. The service is phenomenal, from the moment we arrived , everyone was so nice and helpful. The resort is spread out, but if you need a ride, they are there in minutes. I have to agree with some of the reviews, that the rooms seem a little dated, but our bed was amazing. The bushes outside our deck were overgrown, so we refrained from using it, which was a little disappointing. Our ceiling kept making loud cracking noises throughout the day and night, which I attributed to the heat, and the expansion and contraction of the roof.

The restaurants were fantastic. We ate at the Spotted Donkey, Bogey's, and at the restaurant in the lodge, and all meals were wonderful. We also had room service one day, which was also very good. We tried to eat at the Italian restaurant on the property, but we arrived at 4:30, and they don' t open until 5:00, which seemed unusual. This restaurant is not run by the resort. There is a grocery store across the highway, which we used to buy breakfast items, drinks and snacks. The shuttle will drop you off at the bottom of the resort, so the store is a short walk.

My husband golfed one day, and the course was beautiful. This was the first time he played desert golf, and really enjoyed it. He only played the North course, but they say the other course is just as beautiful, but with different landscapes. The service, again, was top notch. They provide you with water and towels, and throughout the game, the drink carts come through. They also come by with cold towels, which are welcomed in the hot temperatures.

We did not use the spa, but used the pool at the spa, which was quiet. They have staff there to provide drinks and lunch. We did not use the main pool, only because the pool at the spa was within closer walking distance, and the pool at the spa does not allow children.

I would certainly recommend staying at the resort to others. If you' re staying for more than a few days, I think it would be beneficial to have a car, which we did not. There's not much close to the resort, and the cost of a taxi or private car is approximately $97.00, before tip, to get to/from the airport or to the Phoenix area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear caribbeantraveler91,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your relaxing stop at The Boulders before continuing your journey. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the various dining options we have to offer, and that your husband was able to experience our world-class Jay Moorish designed North Course! We apologies for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay with us, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Although we chose to stay at the Boulders during one of the hottest times of the year.....it was still a wonderful experience! Our Casita was beautiful, private, and had a wonderful patio facing fantastic boulder views! The service was 5 star, golf cart drivers always offering to shuttle us around the resort, room service employees quick and friendly, pool staff never missed a beat, and fitness center trainers that really delivered! We will definitely return to the boulders!

Room Tip: We stayed on 362 and had a very private patio facing Rosie's Rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 34631 North Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.