We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL POOLS & ROOMS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   34631 North Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85377   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Boulders@Play
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL POOLS & ROOMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

There are several pools; all beautiful, each with their own specialty. We loved the spa pool and the food there. The main pool is where the action is and also very upscale resortish.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful. Rustic beams, leather chairs, beautiful views (would recommend golf course view if you love plush greenery rather than rustic desert). The ensuite baths are the BEST we've ever had at a hotel. Everyone in our group raved about them.

Room Tip: Insist on ground level, looking at the plush golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    209
    93
    61
    35
See reviews for
217
675
49
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just had the best weekend getaway. We live in Arizona and enjoy our stay cations. Our weekend at the Boulders was just perfect. The staff was amazing (Bob, Chris, Che, David and Rob) made us so comfortable and welcome. The food at the cafe was delicious (cobbler, scallops). Room was clean and spacious and the grounds were impeccable. We will certainly be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in one of the casitas for our anniversary some time ago. The noise from the crickets in the room was deafening. The wolf spider that jumped out of the sheets when we turned down the sheets was startling. The little black beetles in the bathroom were pretty disgusting. However the pièce de résistance was the scorpion that stung my husband.
Yes, we thought about leaving in the middle of the night, and we should have done so! At the time it just seemed like a lot of trouble to pack up at 3:00am and have the golf cart come around to pick us up and take us back to our vehicle.
The most stunning part of the visit though was the staff attitude at check-out. When we complained about our experience we were told, "After all, this is the desert."
We subsequently sent two letters to management. No response. Nothing, nada, zip.
As I said, never again.

P.S. The "When did you travel" comment did not have a time that fit our stay. We were not there in August 2012, but August of a previous year.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersResort, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay at The Boulders Resort in August of 2011. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointments you encountered and for our lapse in service. We regret the unfortunate issues you experienced and are truly sorry for not providing you with the Anniversary Celebration you deserved and expected. Our team is most grateful for bringing our attention to these shortcomings and for providing us the opportunity to improve the service we extend to our guests.

The Boulders Resort is committed to respond to all guests’ communication, but unfortunately, based on the information provided, we have no record of receiving the two noted letters. Should your schedule permit, it would be our pleasure to speak to you regarding your stay and allow us to personally extend our apologies. Please contact the Executive Office at 480-488-9009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We traveled to the Boulders resort in mid September. We have been to the Scottsdale area of Arizona 5 times in the last 8 years in the Fall as the weather changes in PA. The weather has never let us down, always sunny and warm.

This was our first time to the Boulders and a Waldorf property. Previous stays were at either the JW Marriott Desert Ridge of the Fairmont Princess. We chose the Boulders as we wanted a smaller resort that would offer more of the Southwest flavor than the larger Fairmont or JW properties. We were not disappointed.

Upon our early arrival we breezed through check in and were in our private spacious casita in minutes. The casita was very nice, but I would have 1 suggestion and 1 complaint. The suggestion would be for the floor of the outside deck to be refinished or replaced as it had nails sticking up and was splintered. Don't got out in your bare feet or you will get a splinter as I did. The complaint would be size of the shower. The bathroon was quite large, yet the shower stall was very small and awkward. Anyone who is more 6" 2 or 230 pounds will not be able to use the shower easily.

The golf courses and and spa were world class and I can't think of a complaint. In addition, the service at the main pool from Justin and Rob was outstanding.

All in all a great and relaxing time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We arrived for a short 2 night stay at the end of our 3.5 week trip to California and Arizona. Just driving through the gates to the main lodge makes you know you are in a very special place.

Booked using HH points and we received upgrade and vouchers due to being Diamond members. Got a great room on the edge of the South Course 6th Green and saw quail, gecko's and rabbits in the first 10 minutes, then we got lucky and the resident bobcat trotted across the green towards us.

Service is top of the line with all staff using your name and are attentive without being over-present. Just right.

Pool area is stunning and nice and quite for us. We dined at the Palo Verde restaurant and again service was first class and the meal fantastic. Played golf on the South Course and it was difficult but the score did not matter when playing somewhere like this.

Our room was also first class and whilst some may complain about little issues, we think this is people wanting to look for faults. This place is built around the desert, working with it to produce a unique resort and in our view must be in the top 3 in the world.

We regretted spending time at other hotels on our trip when we could have spent more time here. We will be back next year for 1-2 weeks of pure relaxation, top of the line service, great golf and spa and the most stunning setting of a hotel we have ever seen.

As said by a previous poster, put this on the 'must do' list.

One question for Trip Advisor - Can we have at least a '7 circle' rating for all the options just for this resort?

Room Tip: Casita 347 is stand alone, faces east for morning sun and over 6th green and can see loads of the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have travelled extensively throughout the world and The Boulders just has to be the place to beat all places. We have just returned from our third visit and found it to be just as relaxing as previous visits with the same attention to detail. Whatever one looks for in a memorable vacation, whether it be spa treatments, fine dining, golf or just plain relaxation this is the place.
Yes, there is a resort fee, but to be fair the service provided justifies it.
Our stay was in a villa for two weeks and can be simply described as memorable.
We are now anticipating a return visit in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

All around impressive service. We wouldn't change a thing. From the moment we pulled up to the guard gate the staff was extremely courteous and friendly. My husband even commented as we pulled away "why aren't more customer relation people like him". This only set the stage for our entire visit. The checkin staff, concierge, pool attendants, golf cart drivers were all very personable, warm, and knowledgable. The villa was very comfortable, private and well furnished. I would definitely recommend taking a walk/stroll/hike through the boulders. It is an understatement to say they are massive and impressive. This was the perfect location for those living in the Phoenix area that desire a little R&R or those traveling here from far away looking for a piece of heaven in the desert.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 34631 North Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.