We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class outdoor dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palo Verde at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Palo Verde at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
34631 N Tom Darlington Dr, Carefree, AZ 85377 (Formerly Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort Restaurant)
480-488-9009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palo Verde at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Carefree
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Carefree Highway and Scottsdale Road
Description: Palo Verde's Chef Hertel introduces a contemporary southwestern-inspired menu, featuring unique and exciting new creations, such as Wagon Wheel Oyster, crispy fried oysters on top of Johnny cakes, with jalapeňo tartar and greenhorn relish, or Autumn Squash and Smoked Chili Fritters, glazed with the Boulders’ harvested honey, old west cherry peppers and green onion, and Pan Seared Halibut, served with scarlet Indian corn, chayote succotash, prickly pear butter sauce and barbed wire micro greens or Mesquite Smoked and Grilled Veal Chop with creamy huitlacoche rice, guajillo purée, Anaheim chili compote. Restaurant Manager and Sommelier Bradley Mraz also presents a revamped wine list, highlighting an array of new wines, just made for perfect pairings with Chef Hertel’s creations. Enjoy the views of the serene Duck Pond for breakfast daily or for dinner as you dine under the stars.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Class outdoor dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Dined on the terrace in September. Highest quality of food and service I have experienced, even in America. Had Osso Buco and Srip steak, cooked to perfection, spicy crushed tomatoes with the steak were devine, lamb just melted off the bone. Great selection of wine. We shared the 'Angry Shrimp' starter wich was also fantastic. Overall, $100 for 2 was great value for this standard of fayre, considering it would have been over $150 with a chain like Ruths Chris. If staying at the Boulders, take at least 1 meal here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    25
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent ending to a beautiful day at Boulders Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We decided to go to the restaurant and it did not disappoint. Excellent service, timely, value for money and a lovely setting. Food superb and drinks reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Every table has a beautiful view. The menu is far from ordinary. Every dish we have ordered there has been exceptionally prepared and always has an interesting element. It's a great place to try new dishes. The staff knows their menus and wine selections well. Great service tops off the experience for us each time!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
1 review
“Loved the Ribeye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was a truly great experience. I've eaten twice at The Boulders and enjoyed both occasions. Creative menu choices; great ambiance; excellent service. Food is delicious. Basic cocktail choices, decent wine menu... Can be pricey, and reservations are not necessary depending upon the time of year.. The Chef was out and about and he stopped over to welcome me, he recommended the Ribeye which was just added to the menu, the Chef not only recommended it but even told me where the beef comes from! I had a Calamari appetizer and it was very tasty, perfectly cooked, (The sauce was a bit heavy). The ribeye was every bit of what the Chef had described and it came with their home made onion rings (Not store bought)… Next time I'll have to bring a date!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersResort, Manager at Palo Verde at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
The Boulders resort would like to thank this guest for the review of the Palo Verde restaurant. We are excited to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the recommendation provided by our Chef. We apologize if your appetizer was a bit heavy on the sauce. Please know we are looking into this to make any improvements that are necessary. Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to having you dine with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was in town for a meeting and myself and two business partners decided to visit the Boulders Waldorf Astoria for dinner. We were disappointed to learn that there fine dining restaurant had closed and the only dinner option was there lobby restaurant. We were seated right away and we found the atmosphere to be quite relaxing, we ordered there private label wine that for the price surprisingly nice. I have a gluten allergy and there chef was kind enough to come out and speak with me, together we were able to come up with a dish that worked for me. Our food arrived and my special dinner was better than I had hoped for! Great job to Chef Martin and his cooks, Elyssa our server was funny and truly gave us the service that we were expecting to have.. Regardless when they re-open the fine dinning restaurant I’ll be back to Palo Verde.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Verde at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort also viewed

 

Been to Palo Verde at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palo Verde at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.