We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert River Kayak

Desert River Kayak
1034 Hwy 95, Bullhead City, AZ 86429
1-888-KAYAK-33
Website
Improve this listing
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had never kayaked before, but this was good even for beginners. We had a party of 6 ranging in age from 13-74. It was a long 11 miles with interesting sights along the way. Be prepared to work since there was not much current and occasionally the wind worked against us. All in all it was a wonderful experience. The pick up and drop off went smoothly. The kayaks, paddles and life vests were all in good condition too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Excellent from unique easy local aquatic day trips to expedidtions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you have any sense of adventure and play at all, love the water, and want to do much more in the Laughlin/Bullhead City area other than sit in a casino - be sure to find what tickles your pickle with Desert River. They offer trips at reasonable prices for all levels and lengths of personal non-motorized water sports. My wife and I were very pleased with the flexible paddle at your own speed and interest and then call us at specific way points so we can time your personalized pick up. We enjoyed a 4 plus hour kayak paddle around Lake Mohave, near Davis Dam - beautiful water and sandy beach area. We also were treated to a personal paddle of Topock Gorge - a very nice scenic canyon along the Colorado River drainage, and timed out to meet our retrieval shuttle after just 5 minutes of relaxing in the shade at the take out point. Can't say enough about how great this operation is and the variety of trips and equipment thy offer - canoes, kayaks, stand up paddle boards, tubing from a few hours to multi day trips. If you like getting your feet wet - try them out next time you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't beat this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Helen and her staff are always great to work with and we spent another glorious day kayaking the Colorado River. Can't believe more people don't do this. It's an easy float with the current and not strenuous at all. I would recommend for people of any age.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Superb Kayaking experience, well worth the reasonable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

9 of us spent $80 each for a full day of fun, all included except lunch. You don't need your own kayak or lifejacket, they supply it all. We met at 7am at Desert River Kayaks and were driven 2 hours to the base of Hoover Dam, spectacular, where we set off. Five hours later, after exploring side canyons and paddling down river, we were met and loaded up and driven back. Wonderful fun, a great company. We WILL do it again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A truly Magical way to experience the Colorado River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I book approximately 4 or 5 Kayak trips a year with Desert River Kayak. My groups consist of all ages/sizes. They have many different boats to accomodate everyone, standup as well as the sit down. The staff is a pleasure to work. We usually start at Davis Dam to Rotary Park appx 11 miles (a beginners paddle) but a blast for everyone! All down river. We go right past the Laughlin Casinos, parks and riverfront homes. The quiet atmosphere makes it easy for the group to chat and enjoy the abundant wildlife. Frequently we do the Full Moon paddle. We put in at sunset and watch as the full mooon rises, the moon is so vibrant you can almost read a book out on the water. We book other beautiful trips, the most magnificent, Black Canyon, you put in at the base of Hoover Dam to Willow Beach! Water falls, wildlife and the most beautiful scenery you will ever experience! A bit more difficult but well worth the effort.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert River Kayak also viewed

 

Been to Desert River Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert River Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.