We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Queen Mine

Copper Queen Mine
Highway 80, Bisbee, AZ
520-432-2071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Bisbee
Type: Mines, Tours, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
Helendale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Going Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The mine tour gave us a picture of what life was like for folks in the mines in the early days of Bisbee. Our tour guide, a former miner, was informative and humorous. We learned lots!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    55
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the time and effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Guides are former miners w/ great stories. The guide allows pictures and water and will conduct tours if only one person signs up. We had just 5 on our 9 AM tour but made reservations because ti was a Friday. Wear an extra layer because it can be quite cool in the mine

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting but somewhat pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Fun ride on a silly little train -- you straddle the seat, so you might not want to wear a short skirt! Learned some pretty interesting details about life as a miner from someone who worked as a miner in the area back in the day. Seemed a bit expensive though, for what you get.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison , Tx
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bisbee ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great tour of the mine ,Lots of Very interesting mining equipment and the Guides were great Guys both had worked in the mines for years and they made the tour even more fun with there humor .
Over all this was a great time and i will take it again next time i'm down there .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Get on your slicker (provided) and your helmet and light (provided) and head for the miner's ore train to begin your decent into a mine which was actively mined until 1975. The guide worked for the mine (retired) was excellent, we stopped along the way, got off the rail and walked to different "stopes and drifts" seeing the drills and blasting holes just as they were left. The guide explained how the equipment worked, how the ore was transported and the different jobs miners would do underground. I came a few years ago and when asked if I would accompany someone and go back I was happy for the chance. This is good for all ages though I'm grateful that our group were all adults (the group that was departing was nearly all children). I generally don't care for "gift shops" at the kinds of attractions, but if your into minerals and mined metals, this place rates pretty highly as far as I'm concerned and surprisingly the prices were better than I've seen nearly anywhere else.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copper Queen Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Queen Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.