We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copper Queen Mine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Queen Mine

Copper Queen Mine
Highway 80, Bisbee, AZ
520-432-2071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 attractions in Bisbee
Type: Mines, Tours
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction Details
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Copper Queen Mine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Although we only went into the information/visitors centre at the Mine, it was filled with information and exhibits, which were fascinating. The staff are extremely helpful and informative. The open pit mine is enormous and mind boggling. The men were obviously very tough in those days. Believe the Mine underground tour is well worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    44
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well preserved old mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Being able to go into the mine allowed us to get a glimpse of what the miners experienced. My grandfather worked in the mines( in Missouri) and died in the mines. I have a great appreciation of all the hard work the miners did.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's cold in there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The small train is an interesting ride as you progress deep into the mine above Bisbee. Not all that long, but for the area it is a treat.

I would say it is one of the better things to do with your time while in Bisbee.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The guide had worked in a mine for over 20 years so he knew first hand how one is run. He wanted us to ask questions and boy did we! When in Bisbee go see what made the town! The guide was great!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour and Pete Was The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went on a hot afternon and the temperature drop was real and welcome. Our tour guide Pete was the real deal - he;'d spent 24 years working in a Copper mine and he was a fountain of useful informationa nd answered all of our questions with grace and good humor.
Suit up in a slicker, hard hat and lantern and straddle the train for a ride into a different world and a different time. Quite cool in the mines - however for August in Arizona it was just what the doctor ordered.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Queen Mine also viewed

 

Been to Copper Queen Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Queen Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Copper Queen Mine to your Saves list