We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place - enjoyment depends on your guide” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Queen Mine

Copper Queen Mine
Highway 80, Bisbee, AZ
520-432-2071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Bisbee
Type: Mines, Tours, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cool place - enjoyment depends on your guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We went here on a school field trip. It was VERY cold, so dress in layers. They dress you up in a slicker complete with hard hat and headlight, then sit astride a mining train to go down down down. The kids were all excited to get on the train, but once down there, the non-native English speaker was really difficult to understand so the kids were not able to learn anything which was disappointing and made the kids wander off both physically and attention wise. The guide obviously knew what he was talking about - and the bits and pieces we did catch were interesting, I just wish he had been easier to understand (lovely, friendly guy - well intentioned, however!).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    55
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“What a neat place to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We enjoyed the train ride and the history. Great place to visit to see how mining was done in the old days.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must see mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

You really feel like you are a miner heading into the mine. They dress you up with a rain coat, light and hard hat. Put you on a train and head into the mine. This was a real working mine and it really takes you back in time to see what it was and is like for miners. Our guide was amazing, he has worked in mining for over 40 years and answered every question with expertise. If you take this tour you want to bring along a sweatshirt or jacket as the mine is a cool 47°. This is a must see, worth the trip to Bisbee.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting and lots of fun for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a great adventure to go down and see the different areas of the mine. Please make sure that you are wearing appropriate clothing! Even during the summer it is cold and you don't want to be in sandals because you are walking around down there among the loose rocks

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A fun tour for the family with a great tourguide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We went on this tour with our children (9 & 11) and my in-laws (in their 70s), and we all enjoyed it. Dressing warm is important, and they further bundle you in a raincoat, a miner's hat and give you a flashlight before you pack onto a small train and ride into the mine. Our tour guide (like most of the guides there, I think) was a former miner and full of good stories about the mine and its history. The mine ceased operations in 1974. It gave us a real sense of what it must have been like for the miners "back in the day," and also gave an interesting perspective when we saw the open pit mine down the road afterwards. You do walk up several steps in the mine, and the train requires you to straddle the seat like you are riding a horse, so you need to be somewhat agile to really enjoy this tour.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copper Queen Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Queen Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.