We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gym Club Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gym Club Suites
Save
You added Gym Club Suites to your Saves list
39 Howell, Bisbee, AZ 85603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Bisbee B&B and Inns
southwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

We wanted a little overnight stay in charming Bisbee, the other inns were filled so we asked where to stay from one of the other hotels. They suggested theGym Club. I thought it would be fine because of the high Trip Advisor rating but in the end it was a bad idea. I think when out of town tourist wrote the reviews of the Gym Club, they got caught up in the Bisbee charm and really didn't hang out in the room. The furnishings and decore were not unique, I'm guessing from a Walmart-type store. (Polyester blend fitted sheet (no top sheet) and comforter box set). The place was relitively clean but not CLEAN. For being an old building it wasn't very soundproof and whenever the the upstairs neighbors would walk and talk, we heard it (and they weren't even in a partying mood). We were quoted a price range but were stuck with the choice of 2 of the most expensive units. Angel, the woman who checked us in was pleasant but really didn't help us finding a restaurant other than highlighting all of the restaurant numbers on the pre printed tourist guide. Oh, this may be a random thing, but I found a "kissing bug" the next morning crawling on my suitcase AAAAAGH! Never again!

  • Liked — location, view
  • Disliked — cheapfurnishings, bedding, able to hear talking from neighbors
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

We booked the biggest apartment here as we were a party of six. 5 minutes walk from the centre, felt very quiet and peaceful.
The apartment was extremely spacious with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a large living/dining area, a full size kitchen and a very big deck overlooking the town. There were also free laundry facilities in the basement.
A great place for a family, particularly if you want some space to spread out.
The kitchen was very useful as Bisbee closes early where food is concerned.
Free wireless was great.
Check-in helpful, quick and efficient.
Eat at the Bisbee Breakfast club, it's great.

  • Liked — Location, facilities and space
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

We stayed at the Gym Club Suites during a hiking trip and were very pleased. Although the building itself could be described as "funky" with rooms on several different levels and no lobby to speak of, the service was excellent and the rooms were very spacious and clean. We stayed in one of the rooms with a deck overlooking the town and really enjoyed the people watching this allowed us. The 4 of us (2 younger kids) really enjoyed having our own space and a kitchen in the one bedroom unit we had. Parking can be a bit of challenge, but noise is not an issue as it can be at other places we have stayed in Bisbee. Great place for a family.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

This place is perfect if you want a laid back quiet place while staying in Bisbee. There is parking accross the street and it is ideal to leave the car there and walk a few blocks to Main Street or to the rest of Historic Bisbee.

There is no lobby or check in and this was perfect for me to just relax - free wireless internet access and a full kitchen and a living room as well as a bedroom in the basic unit.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

We arrived late at night, and had a little trouble getting to our hotel on the one way streets, but a wrong turn was actually the right one ti make.

We stayed at the Gym Club Suites, WONDERFUL! The Inn Keeper I will call him was quick, and extremely friendly. The building is secured by the buzzer system, and a key. A quick ride in an elevator and walk up some stairs and there we were. The Ravens Rest. The room offered us, full size kitchen with fridge and microwave, sinks and coffee maker. A living and dining area, and one full bath. There were two seprate bedrooms, but not private, one was was a loft, and a nice private patio. This would be great for a family trip or group trip.

Although Bisbee is small, and seemed relatively safe...We walked to the saloon/ bar area, and it was pretty late. We encountered two guys who seemed very interested in our camera equipment...We decided to head back to the room after that.....

Both beds offered great comfort, we woke up feeling like we had gotten one of the best nights f sleep in a long time.The area is so quiet and dark, you will too.

We walked around the entire area, main street, and not so main street, some private walk ways, a park, several alley ways, and then back to Main street. Several homes offer unique gardens, sculptures, and signs.

Everyone said hello, good morning, how are you....this was wonderful!

We took over 700 pictures from 6 am to 12 noon......

The most fun was shopping at the :" MINERS & MERCHANTS ANTIQUE CENTER" on Main. his is a huge place, with a bargain basement....really! offering $1.00 book,s and misc trinkets...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

We had a great time here. The room was terrific-- very clean and spacious. It's in a great location-- right in the heart of Bisbee. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gym Club Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gym Club Suites

Address: 39 Howell, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gym Club Suites, an Historic Bisbee Landmark provides charming comfortable lodging for the night or an extended stay. It is located in the heart of Old Bisbee Arizona a short walk to restaurants, shops and nightlife. It is the perfect place for a weekend getaway or an extended stay. Each suite has a full kitchen. Some feature decks with panoramic views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gym Club Hotel Bisbee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gym Club Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.