We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if only tsa would let me smuggle a vat of their salsa back in my carry on luggage....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santiago's Mexican Restaurant

Santiago's Mexican Restaurant
1 Howell Ave, Brewery Gulch, Bisbee, AZ 85603
(520) 432-1910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 41 restaurants in Bisbee
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
columbia, sc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“if only tsa would let me smuggle a vat of their salsa back in my carry on luggage....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

after running for nearly an hour in the bisbee 1000 run and great stair climb, we were famished and the post-race snacks just weren't going to cut it.

our original plan was to partake of the unusual pizza offerings on the other side of town, but after walking a great distance to the restaurant, we were disappointed to learn it had been replaced by some sort of noodle shop.

thankfully, we were able to console ourselves with the fare offered at santiago's.

upon arrival, we were informed that the wait time was about 15-20 minutes. happily, we were seated in five. our server showed up promptly to take our drink order, and returned about five minutes later with our ice waters. we decided to split one of their signature dishes- "molcajete". at $24.99, it seemed a little pricey, but we decided to splurge a little.

as we waited for our entree, we munched on fresh tortilla chips and their excellent salsa. the latter had just enough kick to keep my interest, yet wasn't too strong for my companion. by this time, the host was telling everyone who walked in that the wait time was nearly an hour.

the molcajete was certainly worth the wait.

fifteen minutes or so after we placed our order, out came this stone bowl of piping hot shrimp, steak, red and green peppers, and oaxacan cheese, smothered in an ancho-chipotle chile sauce and garnished with pico de gallo, quinoa, and fresh limes. separate containers held our two sides (roasted corn and ranch beans) and flour tortillas.

i had it not been so heavy, i would have licked the bowl.

honestly, i would've scored this meal a 4 1/2, were it an option. the food was quite good, and the service friendly, but i had to trip our waiter to come refill our water. granted, it's not like he was just standing around, but it's something i tend to get a little picky about.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    164
    115
    46
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Bisbee is full of surprises and this restaurant is one of them. Fine dining experience like one would expect in Phoenix but happily it's in a way cooler locale. I highly recommend a visit and remember to sample their unique tequila offerings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best Mexican and Margaritas during our Arizona trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Copper Queen which I remember as a boy living in Douglas on the Mexican Border, but that's another story of never going home. Arriving at 6PM, we were told the dining room at the Hotel would be open until 8PM. We came down at 6:45 to find the dining room closed with the story delivered by the Hotel manager that they had a run on the restaurant and were out of many items on their menu. Upon arriving at 6PM the dining room was half full, being a retired restaurateur, the rush was a big fib. The Hotel manager gave us some "recommendations" for dinner, but after the big fib, we were skeptical. Exiting the lobby, a local who heard the manager's "recommendations", told us the best place in town was Santiago's. He was not wrong and substantiated his claim by showing up later for his meal. After a long day in Tucson, we were ready for a big drink and great food. Their soup bowl-sized Margaritas were enough to make a parched man cry and call for another which we did. Coming from the east, authentic Mexican is often flavored with other Latin iterations from further South. Boy, did we like the real thing; each platter was devoured, even the picky eater's in our group. Next time we visit Arizona, Santiago's will be on the must list but we'll find better accommodations (already did at a lower cost). Our local friend from Santiago's even gave us directions to the best breakfast in town. Who knew the West was so friendly to strangers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whetstone, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Mexican Food in Bisbee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Santiago's is a great place for Mexican food in Bisbee and the service is excellent as well. We have tried several different dishes now and all have been so good that we will be going back whenever we visit Bisbee, especially for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican Food in Southern Arizona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

For you that have been to Bisbee, Arizona, you know what a funky town of 6,100 persons that is Bisbee. We enjoy the history of this old mining town, which the vast open mines of Freeport McMoran (formerly Phelps-Dodge) remind us, although they have long stopped mining.

While Bisbee is fairly close to the border of Mexico, it is still surprising to those that first try Santiago’s Mexican Restaurant, what really good food that they offer. We have been coming to Santiago’s for years. Our recent visit started with absolutely ice-cold margaritas and Negra Modelo’s. For me when the refreshments are ice-cold, the food that follows will be really good.

It is always good to arrive early during happy hour when you can get a ceviche of fresh shrimp & white fish marinated in lime juice with diced tomato, onion, cucumber and cilantro for less than $3.

I especially enjoy their beef fajitas. The marinated meat and the accompaniments are excellent. I especially enjoy that the two sides that come with the dinner include roasted corn as an option. And while I enjoy a great Mocajete, I have not yet tried the one at Santiago’s. As Mocajete lovers know, you need to be really hungry when you order this dish.

The reception and service has always been excellent. If I could offer one area of advice to the restaurant, it would be to fix the fan in the kitchen. Its noise continues to be annoying, although if it comes down to putting up with the noise or the food, I will continue to choose the food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santiago's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Santiago's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santiago's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.