We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Bisbee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper City Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper City Inn
Save
You added Copper City Inn to your Saves list
99 Main Street, P.O. Box 1313, Bisbee, AZ 85603-2313   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Bisbee B&B and Inns
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stay in Bisbee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got off to a nervous start because I forgot the copy of the confirmation email with the lock combinations on it, but fortunately was able to retrieve the information from home and all was well. Its a little different from the usual to do all arrangements online and then not to have any visible staff at the property, but it worked out fine, and Fred and Anita made it clear from information in the room that they could be reached easily if needed. As it turned out we didn't need a thing - they had thought of everything including the bottle of wine! We even used the laundry machines, as we were in the midst of a several-day road trip. Breakfast at the nearby High Desert Market worked well, though we readily succumbed to tasty offerings beyond what was covered by the voucher. Still very modestly priced for good organic food.

The main drag in Bisbee tends to have a high concentration of motorcycles, but the street noise was not excessive. It was Sunday and Monday nights when we were there, so we wondered whether the night club directly across the street would have been a source of late night noise earlier in the weekend. We were in the Coulter room on the 2nd floor, which probably would help limit noise.

Our only regret was that we did not reserve the big room downstairs, or which we got a glimpse just before we left. Next time!

Don from Vermont

Room Tip: Go for the big room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
As you pointed out, we have digital locks rather than keyed locks and we make every effort to ensure that guests have their codes before they come, however we are only a phone call away (physically 5 minutes) in case folks forget their info. You're right we don't live on premises, (a subject I'll discuss in the next review "Not Recommended".) however we are a short distance away and we are at the Inn daily. We have had no problems in 8 years of operation. We do have laundry facilities available for guests because you never know when you need something clean when you travel. (See comments on Great B&B about the nightclub) Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    23
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
116
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anthony, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We loved the neat, cozy and scenic stay at Fred and Anita's rooms. They were nicely furnished with special room amenities and extras, such as a voucher for complimentary breakfast at a nearby bakery. The service was friendly. They gave great directions to the location. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pretty town. We definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. Cheree is a gem of a room cleaner and a wonderful person. We purposely decided not to have keyed locks and it has been a good decision. You get your room codes with your reservation and you're in when you arrive as you noted.

The Bisbee Royale (the blue building across the street) is not a nightclub. They do have music on Wednesday night but low key and not loud, in fact I couldn't hear it from the Inn. The Royale shows movies on Fri and Sat. The 'marquee' is located on their wall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferrisburg, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked on line and received directions and combinations to get in--all easily done and comfortable. The Inn is right in town and accessible to restaurants, shops, etc. we felt fortunate that the night club across the street was closed for Sun/Mon, so don't know if that might be noisy at night. We had a very nice little balcony from which to look over Bisbee's busy-ness while sipping complimentary wine (an excellent touch!) and the natural foods cafe for which we had breakfast vouchers was a nice walk down the road and excellent. As we left, Cheree, the caretaker, showed us the very large room below us, which was truly beautiful! We'll remember the Copper City Inn in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Bisbee Royale, the big blue building across the street from our Inn, is not really a night club. They have acoustic music a couple nights a week, and shows films on Friday and Saturday. They also have a very nice pub and good food. There is no noise problem and we have never had a complaint from any of our guests. Thanks for pointing out our balcony, wine and the excellent High Desert Market where you redeemed your voucher for a continental breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed for one night in the Copper City for our post-wedding "mini-moon" (didn't really have time to do a full honeymoon for job reasons) and it was AWESOME. Stayed in the Warren Suite, and as soon as we walked in my wife wanted to know if we could stay another night (Sadly the popularity of the establishment ensured that it had already been booked). The porch was amazing, and though the area of the inn was quiet, it was only a short walk down to the wilder part of town. I have to admit when I saw that it was "vouchers" for a "Continental breakfast" I rolled my eyes, but the market was DELICIOUS! We got extra scones to take home with us they were that good. All around a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Glad you didn't say mini-mooned....It's always nice to hear we've done well. Especially for special occasions as a post wedding visit certainly is. I know, 'vouchers' has an odd ring to it and sets off alarms, however as you found out, High Desert Market does deliver the real goods. When I compare what we offer to those inhouse breakfasts with frozen pastries, weak coffee and ersatz cream, we look pretty good. And I think we made a good decision for us to be in the lodging business and someone else to be in the food business. Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

First impressions: We arranged our reservation through the CCI website and promptly received instructions for our arrival. We had also emailed a few questions and these were also quickly answered (and very friendly as well!). Directions for arrival are clear -- and the Inn is very easy to find. We punched it, left our stuff and went to explore Bisbee.
Room: We stayed in the Colter room. The Colter and Bisbee rooms share the top floor. There was no one in the Bisbee room during our stay -- which was kind of nice! The balcony between these two rooms is shared (it is very large) and we had it all to ourselves. The Warren Suite was below us. The room is not huge by any means, but the attention to detail is wonderful and the balcony makes the room extend out to the street (there is also a small patio/sitting area in the back of the Inn). We thoroughly enjoyed our bottle of wine while being able to watch the world go by. Wi-fi worked great.
Location: Downtown Bisbee is about a 30 second walk "down canyon" and several restaurants and the breakfast spot are about 3-4 min walk "up canyon" (see my review for "Screaming Banshee Pizza"). We were not bothered by noise at all.
Breakfast: Coffee is provided in room (and tea and water). There is a breakfast spot right next door (we did not try it) if you want something more. The High Desert Market and Cafe is a short walk up canyon. We had an enormous lemon-berry scone and a huge muffin (and coffee). Both were a good start to the day.
Bottom line: This is the perfect place for independent travelers that want all of the comforts of home at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
A very complete picture of our inn, thank you very much. And also glad you caught some of the Bisbee sunshine when you were here. (little known fact; Bisbee has about 300 days of sunshine a year)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We are fairly frequent visitors to Bisbee (once a year or so) and this is our absolute favorite place to stay. The pride of ownership is obvious in the details and amenities, and the owners make every attempt to assure their guests a perfect experience. We love the little grocery/cafe place down the street where we redeem our breakfast coupon, and the complimentary bottle is a welcoming touch. We really like introducing friends to this little gem; I can't imagine anybody who wouldn't find it charming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
thank you for your comments. We strive to make our place comfortable and very clean for our guests. Almost 20% of our guests are repeats, so we believe we are doing the right things. Maybe you could visit Bisbee more often????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Inn is in the perfect location, which I feel is very important for Bisbee. You walk out the door and are immediately in the heart of everything. The noise from the street might bother some, but the room was very quiet at night when it counted, and we enjoyed watching street life while sipping complimentary wine on the balcony. In fact, the balcony was one of my favorite features of our room (Louis de Bisbee). The room was immaculately clean, however it seemed we interuppted the cleaning crew who should have been gone by the time we checked in (after 4pm). Some cleaning supplies were left in our room, which we placed outside the door where they stayed for the duration of our visit. This is my only "complaint". The room was comfortable, the coffee and wine outstanding and all of the little touches that Copper City thinks of (everything but robes!) make this an exceptional value for the money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our room cleaner did leave her cleaning stuff overnight, she couldn't find it the next morning till she went to clean your room. We reminded her of her check list the last item of which is to remove her cleaning supplies from the room....Other than that, we're glad you enjoyed the balcony and our amenities.

When I first began the Inn we offered robes, but we lost 6 robes through cleaning and theft and therefore I decided not to make them available any longer.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper City Inn

Address: 99 Main Street, P.O. Box 1313, Bisbee, AZ 85603-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury. Located on the quiet end of the Bisbee historic district, the 5 rooms of the Inn are safely accessed via digital codes. Distinctly different rooms have pillow-top queen beds, excellent reading light, desks, chairs, refrigerators. Large in-room bathrooms have hair dryers magnifying mirrors and quality body care products. Each room has a large balcony facing the mountains. Free wireless access, TV/DVD, complimentary bottles of wine and bottled water, organic coffee, free voucher for off-site continental breakfast, off street parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.