We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Roka

Cafe Roka
35 Main St, Bisbee, AZ 85603-9901
520-432-5153
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Bisbee
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Italian, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bisbee, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I save Cafe Roka for special occasions, not that you have to. I ate here most recently for my 50th birthday and I really enjoyed the food, my companions and the restaurant staff. It was wonderful. We ate, drank and celebrated for hours and the waitress never got that look in her eye that said "would they just leave, please..." In fact, we stayed until closing without even realizing it! I've never had a bad meal here - the menu changes from time to time, so you never know what will be available but I can easily recommend the lasagna, sea bass and lamb to name a few entrees. Every appetizer I have had here is wonderful too! Their hours change depending on season so give them a call before you come to town, make sure that they're open and also to make your reservations!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    54
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not designed for family but accommodating to us anyway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Although the dinners started with a soup, lentil and black bean, that was ok, the salad was delicious (for a non-salad lover, that's a lot to say) .
I went for the special, a beef dish which I ordered rare ( perfect) and I was pleasantly surprised. Every sauce was tasty and the portion was huge. I was offered a to go box and I took it. I was pleasantly satisfied. My 8 year old grandson enjoyed himself and rated the need as a 10 on a 1 to 10 scale!
I highly recommend this eatery while in Bisbee. Good place to eat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Hmmm We don't have a children's menu, that's true, but asking for something for children is always an option. We often make spaghetti or pizza for kids. And we provide booster chairs and high chairs and materials to keep kids occupied. We're glad you liked our restaurant and your grandson was most enthusiastic giving us a 10!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in Bisbee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After a day of touring the mine museum, exploring the mine and walking Bisbee's ghost tour we were delighted with our dinner here. Our reservation for 8:30 was the latest one they would accept and we were the last table in the restaurant. But there was no undercurrent of resentment for keeping them there - it was a Saturday anyway, and we didn't think that was very late...

The waiter was sincere on his likes as far as the menu - which was very straightforward and economical. The Sazerac I ordered came with a small absinthe accompaniment and the gf loved the sauv blanc choice recommended by the server. The dinner option with the salad, soup, and sorbet mid-course was wonderful - the soup was a chickpea that was nice after it had been raining all afternoon and we weren't too full before our entrees came. We needed the room too, because the entrees are very generous portions. Prior to their arrival, the server was happy to deliver 3 different reds to taste which made the experience- I ended up choosing a red blend from local Cochise.

I'd recommend this for anyone who likes New American cuisine and warm, sincere table-side service. The giant mosquito sculpture they have on the wall was the only thing I found questionable, but not enough to change my great memory of dinner there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bisbee's best dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This would be a great restaurant if it were in Napa. Chef/proprietor Rod Kass ' well conceived menu offers fresh cuisine lovingly prepared in convivial setting. Great food, service and people watching in a gorgeous historic building. Plan to be in Bisbee on one of the nights they are open (usually Wed. - Sat.) and reserve in advance. Eat at the bar for a bird's-eye view of all the action!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A truly gourmet meal with excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Café Roka is a busy, bustling small restaurant with a superb wait staff, excellent wine/liquor menu and fabulous food. This is truly an unusual find in such a small town. It is reason enough to make the trip to Bisbee.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Roka also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Roka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Roka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.