We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Desert Market and Cafe

High Desert Market and Cafe
203 Tombstone Canyon, Historic Old Bisbee, Bisbee, AZ 85603
520-432-6775
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 41 restaurants in Bisbee
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner,with indoor and outdoor seating.We do all our baking on premises, serve generous gourmet salads and sandwiches, quiches, pizzas, desserts and more.Visit our market for gourmet groceries, beers and wines, and unique gifts. We offer wonderful imported cheeses, olives, patés, chocolates and gourmet groceries. Enjoy our fresh organic and locally grown produce, as well as imported and locally produced beers and wines. We also offer table linens and pottery imported from Provence, France, Indonesia, Spain and Mexico (Talavera). Treat yourself with our natural, local, and French soaps and lotions. African baskets from Ghana are part of our full line of baskets and shopping bags from around the world. We also feature local Bisbee-made crafts, San Diego Hats, and more.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a wonderful resource - gourmet market with thoughtfully selected cheeses, meats/pate, wines (many from Spain and Chile), and fresh baked bread and muffins. I didn't get around to trying the attached cafe, but it's squarely on the "must do" list for my next visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    80
    41
    17
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We struck gold in Bisbee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We agree with pennstatetraveler. We would add that we had homemade pie and a smoothie that was delicious. With every smoothie they give you a free boost that included Vitamin C. We had pizza and strata both fantastic, well proportioned, and fairly priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Such yummy, interesting food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Celery Apple Curry (cold) soup, Black Bean Veggie Rice soup (hot), Cibatta BLAvocado sandwich, Smoked Chicken Havarti sandwich and soda from the deli.
TIP: You can buy alcohol in the deli but can not take it into the restaurant. They really should have a sign when you walk up to the counter to order.
Paying is a bit interesting. You order and grab a drink from the deli or go to the smoothie/coffee area and then pay when you are done.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“New Year's Day - a happy discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had heard of a nearby restaurant which was closed on New Year's Day-- which turned out to be good luck for us. We had two delicious pizzas ( a sausage and a spinach+goat cheese) with the best ever crust and tasty toppings ; a grilled pastrami, rated very good- came with some salad; grilled BLT with avocado . Our favorite SanPellegrino limonata drinks . Great looking smoothies being made as we watched and an extensive selection of desserts . You order from the menu or specials board, your food is brought to your table either inside or out--- who knew --al fresco on January 1st!!! You tell the cashier what you ordered and can add something for staff if you choose .
Salads looked good, too . All of us would recommend this spot and would come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super place to stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Quick service. You have to go to the deli counter, order, get a number an sit down. It was a little confusing as we had never been there but it was super good, they got our order correct and the location is nice. We sat outside on a gorgeous day. Everything was Fresh! After you eat you go into pay. They really rely on honesty which is oddly refreshing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Desert Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to High Desert Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Desert Market and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.