We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Unique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copper Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Copper Queen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
esay
1 review
“Great Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We had a great time. The hotel was historic and unique. It is built into the side of a mountain and the hotel is over a hundred years old. It was a family run hotel where we felt welcomed. The rooms were different than any other places we have stayed. It felt more like a bed and breakfast than the typical cold hotel room. It is in an area that is in walking distant from a lot of neat stuff -- the mine tour was amazing. The staff was helpful. We loved the breakfast at the restaurant inside the hotel. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    168
    72
    32
    36
See reviews for
93
208
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

After staying at the Copper Qween we realized it was probably the worst hotel we've ever stayed at. Didn't even have a blow dryer in the room, called for one after my shower waited 45 min., finally had to get dressed and go down to get it myself. The manger Adam came to our room later to give us a breakfast voucher, but we were in bed, and asked him to leave it by the door. The next morning we were told, by Karen a very rude women at the desk he had recinded the voucher because we wouldn't open the door. We felt like they only tolerate their tourist not enjoy them. It wasn't about the breakfast, we could buy our own, it was the way the staff handled the whole situation. Very disappointed never go back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

This hotel certainly gets top marks for character and atmosphere and is definitely worth a stay. However, we did have some concerns - when you are paying over $150/night,
you should be provided with more than 1 chair (the other person has to sit on the bed),
a hairdryer and a box of kleenex. Also, the TV screen is the smallest we've seen in a hotel anywhere. The room was very small and cramped. We had asked for a quiet room and were placed on the 2nd floor. The music from the bar could be easily heard within our room until the early hours of the morning. It took us a couple of nights to figure out where it was coming from, as there are several bars in the area. In all fairness, after figuring it out, we did complain and were offered another room. However, we only had one more night, so it didn't seem worth it. The staff are generally good, but some seemed to have a somewhat lackadaisical attitude. However, if you like a wonderful historic building, with resident ghosts, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Running Springs, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Had a wonderful overnite stay. Staff was very friendly and quick to respond to requests. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Comfortable lounge with lovely outdoor patio overlooking the front entrance. The" Winchesters" resturant has an excellent chef and the prices were very reasonable, and again a lovely outdoor seating made it a very wonderful evening. Thanks to the staff at the "Copper Queen Hotel" I enjoyed it very much Thanks Scott Dennen, Running Springs , CA

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvnvguy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed with my husband and 2 kids. Loved the hotel. Very clean and well up kept. My kids loved the dog behind the front desk, very play full and friendly. The staff was great they took care of everything I needed and had all the answers to my questions. This is a place we will return to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix area
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Spent a girl's weekend in Bisbee and fell in love with the town! What a quirky, charming community, can't wait to return. Unfortunately, we chose to stay at the Copper Queen Hotel. The patio is fun, a great place for coctails with friends. That's where the good ends. The lobby and room were old, musty, stale, and outdated. I'm guessing the rooms were supposed to look true to the period of the hotel. Instead, the wallpaper was hideous, carpet looked worn, bedspreads were old chenille, a dusty lace curtain on the very tiny window, and a unit air conditioner that groaned. I paid $189 for that room...waaayy too much. Next time I'll have coctails on the patio and stay at the San Ramon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckeye az
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

very freindly staff. nice hotel. motorcycle parking in front of hotel. two nice patios out front one for the restaurant and one for the bar

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Address: 11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.