We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero for romance!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copper Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Copper Queen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Mesa, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Zero for romance!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for our anniversary, ordered the romance package. Would not recommend this, as it was far from romantic! We got a bottle of Asti, not the champagne promised, the meal and service in the restaurant was not up to par. Steak was overcooked, fries heavily salted. The manager offered to rectify, but the meal was spoiled, as noone had checked on us during the meal, so could not tell anyone before my husband finished his meal. Bar staff were negative about hotel and owners, badmouthing the place. The room was clean and had no issues with it, but staff seemed disinterested and busy with other things at the front desk. Love Bisbee, but would hesitate to stay here, would not waste the money we did on the 'romance package'

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    168
    72
    32
    36
See reviews for
93
208
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Copper Queen four times over the past few years. I would have to say, although the historical charm is amazing, the service and rooms have steadily deteriorated. We prefer to stay in older hotels with character and are not looking for new facilities so we understand and accept the quirks. From the time you walk into the lobby though, you get the sense they really don't want you to be there. When we checked in, no one else was there but the receptionist and someone in the office were too busy talking to be interrupted. We were put into one of the terrace rooms which are really rooms in the alley next to the building. I will say, it was quiet but the room was very run down. I couldn't get the hot water faucet to turn on and the tub and shower were pretty bad. For the cost, not worth it. The bar has one waitress and if you want to be served, you need to get to the bar and get her attention. Really disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Copper Queen and enjoyed it very much! (No, we did not see a ghost.) The place is very interesting, and I do not doubt we will stay there again.

I've read a few of the other reviews and If you know about the Copper Queen's history, and are staying there because of that, I know you will have a nice stay. If you're staying there just because you need a place to stay - and you want to compare it to a Best Western or Comfort Inn - well then, you'd probably be happier staying in one of those in Sierra Vista.

Yes, the variety of their continental breakfast is smaller than I've had in other hotels, however, I didn't go away hungry, and I enjoyed my breakfast in an actual dining room with table clothes and lace curtains on the windows as opposed to half a dozen tables jammed into some alcove.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Copper Queen on a Monday night. It was quite slow and not alot of people around. The town was quite.
My boyfriend surprised me with a birthday get away for the two of us. He saw a package deal that included breakfast, museum tickets and Copper Mine tour tickets. When he called to make the reservation, he was told that there was no breakfast included. He was disappointed with the misprint so he asked the clerk if he could get a discount for the misprint. The clerk honored the discount and told him that we can have the continental breakfast instead.
He told the clerk that we were interested in a ghost tour. The clerk said that they have that only on a Thursday night but there is a nightly ghost tour at the hotel. He was excited that we could at least have that to do in the evening.
When we checked in and asked when the nightly ghost tour started the clerk stated that there is no nightly ghost tour and directed us to a company that offers that only on Thursday nights. We were disappointed about that.
Being that there weren't many people around and most of the shops closed at 5pm, we decided to try the restaurant and bar. We had the rack of ribs. They were average.
The room was small, not much to the decorations, just the basics. It looked like they were sticking to a historic theme. The bathroom was equipped with the necessities, no hair dryer. You need to ask the front desk to borrow one. There was a small chair in a wing off the bathroom. It was decent. You can hear dogs barking, people talking at night but overall it seemed to stop around 10pm. The bed was average and my boyfriend said that his back hurt due to the lack of support. There was a topper put on top of the mattress that seemed to help a bit.
The continental breakfast was average. Waffles, cereals, fruit, muffins, breads, juice, coffee, teas.
It was overall an okay stay. We were told that the 4th floor is more haunted along with the John Wayne room or room 315. No ghost sightings on this trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Bisbee today is a bit of a nostalgic remnant of its former glory as a western boomtown and mining center. Back in its day, this town bustled and I bet it was dusty and loud. As a tourist you cannot go back! But I do recommend a stay here at the CQ. It offers an interesting stay. I have fond memories of pancake brunches at their restaurant... so I am biased... I think you will enjoy it here:
If you like staying in historic old buildings;
You want to feel locally immersed in the historic wild west;
And you might hear unspecified noises in your room at night -- !!!
it is up to you whether you think the place is spooky!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late September 5 adults). Having checked in just after lunch (1340hrs) we were told that they had finished serving lunch but that the bar was open at 1400hrs and we could order food there. Great we said.... well 1400hrs came and went (no bar) we returned to the front desk and were told it would now be 1600hrs when the bar would open AND that the restaurant was closed that evening... At 1600hrs we patiently awaited the bars opening but to no avail...now told it would be 1800hrs...you couldn't make it up..to cut this saga down the bar eventually opened at 1840hrs, bartended told us there was a staff shortage and there would be NO FOOD. Obviously owners are running this lovely hotel on a shoestring budget. Forget it and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you're going "historic" Bizbee, consider staying in this quaint hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was clean and the location was convenient to everything. Keep in mind that this is an old place and that's the charm. Poor internet connections and fluctuating shower water are countered by the really cool people that you meet and the experience of staying in part of history. We will return to the Copper Queen.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a room with a queen or king size bed. Our friends stayed in a double, and it was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Address: 11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.