We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay for Bisbee Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Copper Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Copper Queen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Phoenix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay for Bisbee Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This historic gem was exactly what we hoped for. You walk in the doors and feel as though you are stepping back in time. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed on a Sunday night so didn't get to try the restaurant but I appreciated that the bar had a few few options and the staff recommended some other restaurants within walking distance. Our room was exceptionally clean and decorated with a Victorian charm (wallpaper, lush curtains and nice comforters. We even had a claw foot tub!) The charm was abundant and the location sealed the deal. Right in the middle of everything we were easily able to walk about town, then drop our collected treasures off in the room before continuing for more. I loved our stay and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a claw foot tub. Each room has slightly different decor and amenities so ask the staff what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    169
    72
    32
    36
See reviews for
95
208
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night recently, and was pleased with the quiet, clean room on the second floor.

Negatives: The hotel staff was not very friendly and it took me 15 minutes to check out because the front desk staff didn't know how to use a computer. The shower was smaller than the one in a motorhome.

Positives: It's like time travel staying in this hotel! The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the whole hotel made me feel like I should be wearing clothing from an ancient time period. Bisbee is a place everyone should see at least once in their lives, and the Copper Queen is the place to experience this unique town.

If you do believe in ghosts, you want to pick the floor you're on carefully. The superstitious claim the second floor is ghost-free but the third and fourth? Not so much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

HI, was happy to take my fiance here for one night stay, for his birthday. Hotel was as we expected, thanks to many other reviews. Upon entry, desk clerk very so so, but was gracious to let us pick our room out of a few, and we chose a third floor facing the balcony/street, had good vibes. We were not aware the hotel restaurant does not serve dinner on Sunday, so had a good steak sandwich on the patio. Room was 310 and very clean and bathroom spotless, no problem with hot water. FIance had a ghost experience with a young female ghost and captured an evp on his iphone, very happy guy. Air Conditioner worked great, and enjoyed meeting owner the next day, very friendly and gracious. Happy to stay at such a famous historical hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Bisbee is a fun stay. This hotel is right behind the mining museum (check it out, it was great) and just a couple of blocks walk to the Queen Mine tour. Old town Bisbee has a fun downtown to wander and the QC was a great base operation. There are a number of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

Yes, the hotel and our room were both bit "out of date". However, all were much closer to 2013 than 1913, so don't be concerned that you will miss any of the standard amenities. This historic property is better appreciated if you do a little historical research before arrival. It was fun to stay in such an original property, rather than another one of those cookie-cutter, dull, "found everywhere in America" chain properties.

Our room was large and the window AC worked fantastically. The room was so large that I was surprised about the lack of a mini-fridge, which is offered in certain other rooms. Housekeeping could use a bit more "eye for detail". However, the room was adequately cleaned and nothing made me feel uncomfortable.

There is an ice machine down the hallway from the reception area (I believe I read a review that claimed there was no ice machine). Soda and snacks are reasonably priced at reception. There is free wi-fi.

The hotel saloon and front porch were great for people watching.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband, myself & 5 other family members decided we wanted to have a haunting experience. We had so much fun just with our imaginations. This is a hotel built in 1902, so expect an old hotel. We stayed in the lady of the nights room that was supposed to be haunted. All the bedding ended up on the floor at the foot of the bed. Loved the ambiance of the room. We ate breakfast & dinner in Angela's Restaurant in the hotel & the food was excellent. The price was reasonable & the staff was very friendly & knowledgeable. All of the staff went above & beyond. Loved the experience. Had cocktails out on the patio at night. Nice breeze, considering that time of year is hot. Very enjoyable. Will recommend it over & over again.

Room Tip: Room 315 is fun. If you are going for a maybe haunting experience than you might as well get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed one night on our visit to Bisbee, Arizona. The hotel boasts a great location, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. It is supposedly haunted by several ghosts, none made their appearance to us. The room we stayed in was small with no view ( we chose the Internet special ) however it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel Saturday afternoon. The carpet in the hallway to the room was so worn it was rolling up hunter the suit case. The room was a mix of old and 80's updates, and not very clean. The lights were thick in dust, the towel rack was thick in dust where the towel didn't sit.... but OK...it is a piece of history, so I worked past that. We went to the hotel restaurant for dinner. The service was awful. Twice I had to go get the waitress and remind her that we ordered something and tell her again what it was we had ordered. The food was cold and flavorless. The almond crusted fish was covered in 1/2 inch of breadcrumbs so was dry like eating sawdust. The garlic mashed potatoes were dry with no garlic flavor. The locals said the restaurant is hit or miss, so you never know. We ate in town on Sunday....the Table has fantastic food! On Monday morning, we went downstairs at 10:30 and headed to try breakfast at the hotel restaurant. We figured not much bad can happen to breakfast food. We were told, sorry....we just closed. No where did it post hours or did anyone say at check in that breakfast is served until 10:30. We asked where to go for breakfast. The clerk said," there is a place across the highway past the pit. I don't know of any place else." We were very disappointed. We walked through town by the hotel and found at least half a dozen places that served breakfast with in walking distance. Why would our hotel not tell us this??? They should know what is there....the town is not that big!! We would not stay at the Copper Queen Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Address: 11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.