We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Copper Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Copper Queen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Mesa, AZ
1 review
“Not your average hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Located in the heart of historical Bisbee, this hotel has an air of old time decadence. The staff is helpful and very kind as are most of the other residence of Bisbee. The rooms are charming. We were on a budget so we reserved one of the smaller rooms, but the character of the decor made us fee like we had traveled back in time- far, far away from our busy lives. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    169
    72
    32
    36
See reviews for
95
208
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

AWESOME PLACE! We went there and had a wonderful time. The food, service and atmosphere was the best. I highly encourage anyone looking for a fun, romantic weekend to check out the Copper Queen. We will return many times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTTSDALE, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Copper Queen for the first time for the 2012 Blues Festival (which was excellent, but I digress..)

We stayed in room 308. The decor was perfect nostalgia (mostly purple & green).Floral wallpaper. Remodeled bathroom: yes, the hoop-shower curtain may cling or intrude on some larger guests, but that's the way showers in baths began. Someone complained the water is too hot. Turn it colder. I'd rather it be available too hot than too cold, as hotels often dish out (especially a 100-yr-old-one???)

There is little ventilation in the bathroom, it's true. We stuck the (provided!) stick under the window sash to let some air in, but the mosquitoes came as well. Window screens would be good, exhaust fans better. No big deal.

Our mattresses were good pillow-tops, just like mine at home. The wife was a little less happy, but to each her own.

Our A/C was OK. The good thing about the window AC is that the units do not deface the classic facade of the building very much. The remodels have been very conscious of the looks and feel of the building.

Now, here is the SERIOUS complaint! We had to go out into the hall to get a reliable internet signal !!!!! Please fix that...

Meanwhile, the staff was Excellent. Reviewers, get over a barmaid who might not be PERKY! 24/7.

The desk people were excellent, truly. The wait-staff in the restaurant were efficient and engaging, the food better than average and not terribly overpriced.

After blathering on and on, no I'm not affiliated in any way with the establishment. I was just very happy with my stay.

BG, Scottsdale

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We travel the Southwest often for pleasure, and are used to staying in old, historic hotels. Although there are a few very nice rooms at the Copper Queen, we have in the past been bumped from our guaranteed room to one that was not at all desirable. The most recent stay was for the Blues Festival in Bisbee (a favorite getaway spot for us); we had reserved a room with a king bed and paid a premium price (more than I pay for the upscale chain hotels while on business travel). The room was filthy. The window did not open, and was covered with bird excrement. The intake for the air conditioner was covered with the bird filth. The air in the room was very stale with no hope for a breath of fresh air. When we asked to be moved, we were told that other guests had reserved the rooms. When I told the front desk that I had also made arrangements well in advance for a premium room, she said there was nothing that could be done. It was a second very disappointing experience at the Copper Queen. Sadly, we will not return to that otherwise grand hotel.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, even when you reserve a premium room and confirm with a phone call, there is no way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Always a pleasure. Old Town Bisbee is a beautiful and quaint area. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance along with excellent breweries. The hotel restaurant and separate bar, where you can eat also, are excellent and a memorable step into the past with all the modern entities, and the staff is efficient, accommodating and friendly . Recommend highly

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed over the Labor Day weekend, and enjoyed parts of our stay. Since we knew it was older we did not expect all the amenities you might find in other hotels, however, for the price we paid we should at least get a decent bed. The mattress was obviously old with no support and was not comfortable. The pillows were small and lumpy. We did not mind that the room was small, but the window unit was awful! Everytime it kicked on it made loud noises which made it impossible to sleep restfully.
The restaurant was fine-staff in the restaurant were wonderful as well as the staff at check-in. However, earlier in the day, my husband was attempting to get a drink at the bar and the female bartender ignored him initially and then was rude to him.
I now know that if you are going to stay here you should definitely ask for one of the newer rooms or ones that have been remodeled. Copper Queen needs to quickly update all their rooms (expecially get some high quality mattresses) so that you feel the money you paid was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, Owner at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Carol,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We rely deeply on our guests to let us know of problems within our property. We have researched your reservation and have ordered a new bed for this room in question. We do take pride in our staff and it is unfortunate that you had an unpleasant experience in our saloon and we have spoken to the bartender during the time of your stay. As always, please let management know of these problems as they happen so we may promptly fix it. We hope to see you again.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great place with lots of History. Had breakfast and it was great held me over until dinner. The newer rooms to the side of the Hotel are much bigger and I would recommend those. Bisbee was great just to walk around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, Owner at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
John,

Thank you for your review! We try to do everything we can to please our guests!

Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Address: 11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.