We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway to see Southern AZ Mining Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Copper Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Copper Queen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great getaway to see Southern AZ Mining Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel has charm, authenticity and great service. set in down town, and built at the turn of the century, you get to see Bisbee and immerse in downtown. all sights, museums and attractions are withing walking distance. The copper Queen is the center of the town. A rich history and updated to provide all of the comforts. We got a personal tour from the Hotel owner. Great dining less than a block and great dining in the hotel restaurant.

If you want to learn about the orgins of Arizona statehood, Bisbee will provide it all. Towns people are all very friendly. Recommend te Mine tour, Musem and a walk around town and use the 1000 stairs.

Room Tip: Rooms have all been updated with bathrooms since original build. some of the rooms are small. Staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    169
    72
    32
    36
See reviews for
95
208
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Copper Queen on a cycling tour. Loved the charm and and the history to the place. The room was on the small side, but the bathroom was a good size with a claw foot tub. While charming the shower lacked a lot of water pressure. We stayed on the fourth floor and it was very quiet. Would definitely choose the Copper Queen over other hotels in town. Great Location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
625 reviews 625 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Copper Queen is a Grand Dame of a Hotel, old, distinguished, a bit dusty, but still impressive. Spend the night in the John Wayne room and sleep in his bed. Then look up his signature in the hotel's register and browse the antiques in the lobby. Skip dinner at the hotel, go instead to Cafe Roka where the food was excellent, even if service was a bit "distracted"

Room Tip: The John Wayne is a special trill, especially if you are a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here the Friday night after Thanksgiving in 2011. Bisbee is such an unusual little town, but in a good way. As you enter town, you feel like you're in a European town. Little houses high on the hills, with bright colors. The Copper Queen Hotel had such a warm holiday feeling as we walked in the door. They had it decorated lovely for Christmas. Watched their Christmas town celebration right out front of the hotel on the main road on Friday night. It was such a small town warm Christmas feel! We stayed in one of the larger rooms, I can't remember the name of the room. (It was named after a famous female author). We stayed with my Aunt and Uncle who have some of those little ghost meters. Being a skeptic, but also a little curious, we went on a ghost hunt with my Aunt that night. We got in on the last 5-10 minutes of the town "Ghost Tour" that was being conducted in the lobby and learned about "Billy" and also of another female Sprit. What was interesting is after we heard this info on Billy and the other spirit, we went to their rooms (outside of course) and the ghost meters were off the hook! My bathroom light in my room pulsated on and off throughout the night too! We took some photos and I think we may have even captured a few suspicious beings! If you're not into ghosts or curious about them, don't let this scare you from this beautiful historic hotel. We ate dinner in the dining room, which was excellent. Even shared a bottle of Copper Queen Hotel red wine-yummy! We did the Copper Mine Tour the next day, which was very interesting and kinda fun as you put on a hard hat, rain coats, and ride a train through the mountain. Very cute town and a fun weekend getaway. We were staying with AZ relatives from PHX at the time, so this was a get away with them! Went to Tombstone on the way back to PHX.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I spent the night in a standard room (full size bed) on the second floor and sad to report that I didn’t see any ghosts. The room was pretty small but it had a cozy feel to it. The size of the room was perfectly okay for one person, but it may be too tight for two. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and hotel staff was great. I had the chance to have a few drinks in the bar (great bloody mary) and a delicious dinner at the restaurant. My only complaint is that the AC unit in the room made a tapping noise all night and the curtains in the room didn’t keep out the light from the pool area. Everything else was fine. I am looking forward to staying here again.

Don't stay here if you are expecting modern four or five star luxuries.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at the Copper Queen hotel for our anniversary in Feb 2012. Although the outside is quite impressive, the inside leaves a lot to be desired...Our room was very small and musty. The rooms definitely need some updating. At night kids run around screaming and looking for ghosts. At least they were done by the time we went to bed. I was not comfortable there at all and would suggest finding a nicer hotel. Bisbee is an awesome town!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

this hotel dates from about 1910, when Bisbee was booming. Decor is typical of the era. there are also photos of the original buildings and the town. Our bed was adequate but a bit creaky. Heating was only barely adequate and it was very cold in Bisbee at the time. Some of the guests clearly take the haunted experience seriously. For us, the historic nature of the hotel was of greater interest.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Address: 11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.