We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night in the Bird Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bisbee Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Save
You added Bisbee Grand Hotel to your Saves list
61 Main Street, Bisbee, AZ 85603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good night in the Bird Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent one night at the Grand in the Bird Room. I asked for a room as far away from the Saloon as possible and it was very quiet and comfortable. You need to know when you stay in a vintage hotel that it is not going to be like a typical "hotel" you find off the Interstate! The owners have obviously taken great care to keep the Grand authentic, but have also tried to move it into the 21st Century. I found my room absolutely charming. Christin, the manager, had brewed coffee right outside the rooms in the morning. And, yes, you do check in at the bar. Sean was most helpful, carried my enormous bag up the stairs to my room. Breakfast was included and was just fine. Scrambled eggs, potatoes, ham and toast. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks to all of you at the Grand!

Room Tip: Bird Room was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    70
    12
    16
    13
See reviews for
26
150
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was initially very please to find a room on short notice for work, and the staff was polite and friendly on my arrival. The staff arranged for me to have the hacienda suite. I however agree with other negative reviews that the bar noise can be off putting and it kept me up for some time. After I did fall asleep, I was awoken by another guest yelling/singing around 1am. I was already displeased with mattress quality and noise but this was over the top. I attempted to contact the hotel and got the voice mailbox overnight. I am disappointed with how the hotel has responded to past guest complaints and will follow through with management in the morning and update accordingly.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bisbee Grand Hotel has lots of character. The first hint is going into the bar to check-in. Our room was small but adequate. The only window was facing a sort of well that other rooms' windows faced. The town itself is quite noisy and even with this situation we heard a lot of that noise through the window. Breakfast was great, nothing fancy, served in the "pool" room opposite the bar. I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groebenzell, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I chose this hotel because of it's rustic theme. We thought it would be quaint and it is. It is old everything creaks, the room had only one chair and no table. It did have internet connection but there was no place to set up a computer workstation.
The rustic look is pretty much the real thing. The bed we slept on was what I believe a rope bed converted for a mattress. It was high off the ground. The floors were a nice aged pine floor so it also creaked. There was no way to walk around the room without making noise.
There is no parking for the hotel so where you park is where you can find a place. The location is great if you want to stay in old town Bisbee as you can walk pretty much anywhere from the hotel.
The staff is really nice and that helps make up for some of the room shortfalls. Being an old building the walls are pretty thin. The first night we were there apparently there was some kind of party in the room adjacent to ours. Starting at about 2 AM the party really started going and was still going on pretty well at 5 AM also. The room had also some windows in the walls. I think at one time maybe one was suppose to be a transom but was made fixed. There was also a sitting room that was on the sidewalk, so everytime a car drove by in the night the room would light up briefly. If you don't want light in your room you have to go out in the sitting room and turn off all the lights so the room will be dark.
There was a jacuzzi type bath in the bathroom. The shower and the bath both worked off of the same water heater. The first shower I took there I didn't turn on the cold water at all.
There is a continental type breakfast at the hotel. I found it lacking the coffee was tepid. There is a balcony that you could sit on Main Street if you chose but this is where the smokers smoke.
I'd give Kudos to the staff as they seem to be very helpful.
Overall the trip was enjoyable but if you go to this hotel with high tech stuff, like I do, there isn't going to be a place to set up your 'stuff'. We went for the rustic look, maybe thinking there would be a compromise in keeping up with technology. Not the hotel's concern but our expectation. So if you are content with a electronic pad of some sort then you will be set. I bring a laptop and camera gear and anticipate that I can set up a workplace so I can work on the photos I took of the day.
There is a coffee pot in the room but no icebox. If you want ice you have to go down to the bar and get it from there.
Again it is a pretty nice place, just rustic as advertised. If you are looking for that 'back in the old days' sort of feel you will definately get it at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first red flag was signing an agreement during check-in that stipulated that we wouldn't smoke (this in a very smoky saloon where I was checking in) and that we wouldn't be able to get a refund under any circumstance. We went into our room (#2) which was small, dark, shabby (especially the bathroom) and the room stank of smoke (ironic, right?).
All of the rooms were open and my husband and I chose a better option. Interestingly, the beds in the standard rooms were the same size as ours, although I was charged $10 extra for a larger bed. We asked the bartender (who checked us in) if we could move to another room. He said no which was a surprise to us because no one else had arrived. He very kindly went up to the room to open a window with hopes it would provide some much needed fresh air. My husband and I explored the beautiful town of Bisbee and came back to the hotel late afternoon. I asked if we could move if there was a cancellation and was told that that wouldn't happen. We waited a bit, discussed the situation, and checked out early, without spending the night. The bartender was courteous and helpful throughout the day; the reason why we are disappointed is because of the condition of the hotel, the terrible air quality and shabby condition of our room (that was over priced), and the fact that we had no option to redeem the money that we paid for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bisbeegrandhotel, Owner at Bisbee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am sorry that you reviewed us an having cig smoke in both the saloon and room #2. You are painting conditions that do NOT exist. The saloon has been smoke free for years and all of our hotel rooms/suites are nonsmoking. You, also, misrepresented the occupancy of our hotel on April 17th and 18th. You stated that we had rooms available, but, the fact was that both nights we were booked. we realize that you have the right to your opinion regarding our hotel, but, please do not taint your review based on misleading information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this place. Close walk to all shops and restaurants. Bar/restaurant right next door for convenient late night drinks and such. So much history, and very informative employees. We stayed in the Captain's Suite and it was amazing! Basically a 2 room apt for the weekend. If you go for the 4th of July, you have a front row seat to the soap cart races! Grab a coffee and sit back and cheer on the parade. So much to see and do, we were very pleasantly surprised. Fun, friendly and off the beaten path-in a Great way. Enjoy!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just like a trip back in time! We were tired of chain hotel/motels and found in Bisbee this elegant old time hotel. We checked in at the saloon just like in the old cowboy days! So cool. We were offered a choice of rooms. We picked an elegantly decorated room with bird wall paper and drapes...even a stuffed bird. non-rented room doors were all open, all different and each had its amenities. Homey. Old but well maintained building. Back to the saloon for a drink before dinner. Felt at home with the usual patrons. Bartender recommended a local restaurant. Slept great. Breakfast was great local faire. Good coffee. Nice to meet and get trip tips from the owner, Bill.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bisbee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bisbee Grand Hotel

Address: 61 Main Street, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bisbee Grand Hotel Bed and Breakfast, located at 61 Main St. in Historic Bisbee, Arizona is an elegant escape back to the turn of the century. Each of our seven suites and six rooms are elegantly appointed with antiques, fine art, and extremely comfortable furniture. No two are alike and there is a theme sure to suit any taste. All rooms have their own private bath. As a part of the ongoing renovations and improvements to the hotel, in July of 2008 Air Conditioning was added throughout the hotel. Constructed in 1906 and restored in 1986 in Old West Victorian style, the bed and breakfast hotel features six suites - The Victorian, The Oriental, The Captain's, The Hacienda, The Western, The Hollywood, and The Garden - in addition to seven guestrooms with their own unique decor. Nestled in the copper-rich Mule Mountains, Bisbee's historic architecture, virtually unchanged since 1910, is a popular attraction and provides the town with a unique Old World charm. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bisbee Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.