We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like quirky stay here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bisbee Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bisbee Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bisbee Grand Hotel
61 Main Street, Bisbee, AZ 85603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Northampton UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you like quirky stay here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Pure luck to find this had vacancies. We were in the Garden suite, how lovely. Old furniture & pictures made this suite really comfy. The other suites in this hotel all have themes too and are just as nice. All staff are very helpful and friendly. Room clean and bed huge, comfy and high! a step is really needed! Breakfast plentiful and front balcony overlooks the street so people watching a must.
We would definately recommend this and would love to come back.

Room Tip: Stairs up from street to first floor rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    59
    11
    13
    11
See reviews for
24
134
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stayed at the Grand again been going there for the last 8 years it seems to get better everytime I go there The bar is a great place to meet people from all over the country, the rooms are clean and the suites are a very nice experience they have a kitchen in the bar area for the employees are always happy to serve u. I have been to a couple other hotels in Bisbee but just keep coming back to the Grand The check in is simple and easy sit at the bar get a nice cooling drink and check in while relaxing at the bar

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Grand is at the heart of Bisbee and attracts locals and visitors alike to its popular saloon. Most of the rooms are above or close enough to being above the saloon that some noise is inevitable. The bar closed at 11pm on the Sunday night we stayed which was not a big problem for us as we are night owls; early to bed early to rise patrons may find it more of an issue. (The Captains Suite and Hollywood suite are situated down the street and well away from the saloon so noise would not be an issue. They were great themed suites but with a price tag to match.)
We stayed in the Hacienda Suite which was comfortable but smaller than the photos on the website indicated (one of the photos appears to show an adjoining room which is actually the landing). having said that the room was OK as was the plumbing.
Buffet breakfast offerred fruit, scrambled egg, bagels and danish pastries.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Bisbee is a somewhat bohemian place full of local character and characters and The Grand is central to that scene.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My husband and I just stayed for the second time in 9 months at the Bisbee Grand Hotel. We are planning another trip there this weekend and taking our two teenage daughters. We love this place and the friendly staff. The patio is inviting and we enjoyed sitting there with a glass of wineand waving to passers by. We think we even had a visit while staying in the "wagon room" from a resident ghost! We recommend the Bisbee Grand for many reasons! One being the convenience of its location, the friendly staff and the comfortable rooms. Each and everytime we visit Bisbee, we may not know the great "find" we'll discover in one of the quaint litte shops, but we know where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Staff always friendly rooms are always clean the breakfast is the best out of all the hotels in bisbee talking real eggs bacon sausage ect. I recomend anyone who comes to bisbee to stay at the bisbee grand hotel you will feel at home Thank you for your hospitality:):):).

Joe and Dee

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunCity Wesr, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I'm going on record saying that unless you speak to someone who has stayed in a renovated historical hotel, opt out! My family and I have stayed in two and for us, that was two too many. The Grand Hotel has many disappointments. First, in order to check in you much travel through a "not so pleasant saloon" and belly up to the bar to sign your receipt, then traips back out side to carry your luggage up a very long and steep flight of stairs, depending, of course, wihich room you choose. The entrance into the lodging part of the building was extremely unsecure as each patron was given 2 keys, 1 for their room, and one for the door leading into the building which was attached to the saloon. 90% of the times we exited the building, the main door was left unlocked allowing anyone off the street to come in. So far I've only talked about the good part of our stay. The overnight temperature was in the low 30's. There was no heat control in the room and all of us nearly froze to death. However that was okay, because the music from the saloon was so loud we would not have been able to sleep anway. Not only the music but the guests in the saloon were having a wonderful time and we were able to hear every laugh. We were happy they were having such a great time but not at our expense; $150.00 for the sleepless night. The next morning, we were served a breakfast that two of us didn't bother eating. We voiced our complaints to 3 different staff and they assured us it would be reported to the Manager and he/she would probably contact us. One week later and we have not heard a word.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bisbeegrandhotel, Owner at Bisbee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
These people were referred to us by a competative B & B because they had to close down due to a rupture in a water pipe caused by a 75 year FREEZE that Bisbee had suffered. We advised the customers that the only available suite was located above the saloon and they would hear noises from the saloon. Because most of the places of lodging had similar problems with their pipes the captioned family chose to stay with us.

We would NEVER apologize for any guests checking in at the saloon because, doing so, captures the ambiance of staying at an old HISTORIC place of lodging. In addition, most guests love to intermingle with the people of Bisbee and doing so is part of the fun in visiting our historice town.

We do not have "paid polites" like resorts do, but, anytime a guest desires to have his/her luggage taken upstairs we are more thn happy to do so without holding out a hand looking for tips.

We do issue to our guests a keys to the hotel's front door as well as to their room. We try to keep the front door locked, unless, an eployee is working upstairs, such as, serving breakfast. No wonder the captioned guest had a poor experience with us if all they did was count the % of time the front door was unlocked.

My wife, Valerie and I have stayed in the Oriental Suite many times and have NEVER had trouble sleeping due to noises downstairs. Probabily because we are romantically involved in each other, so much , that the saloon noise is like background music.

We really do NOT believe the captioned guests had a bad breakfast because we take pride in preparing a quality breakfast to all of our guests. We have just TWO employees who are in the hotel throughout the morning, therefore, the captioned guests could NOT have complained to three different employees. In fact, I was upstainrs telling GHOST stories to other guests at breakfast and I did NOT observe any dissatisfied guests nor did any employee tell me of a DISSATISFIED guest both on that date nor afterwards when I questioned my staff.

In conclusion, I am sorry that the captioned guests had a poor experience staying at our romantic and charming Hotel/B & B; however, I have always maintaned that our hotel is not for everybody. If a person is looking for a RESORT atmosphere they should stay away from Bisbee. If a person is looking for the experience of staying in a UNIQUE and CHARMING turn of the century atmosphere, then, the Bisbee Grand Hotel best captures that ambience. JUST an additional note.... We have other unique themed rooms/suites that do NOT receive noises from the saloon. For all of potential guests reading the captioned complaint, please do NOT allow this person's questionable complaint prevent you from staying at our fine hotel which, in itself, will ENHANCE your entire visit to Bisbee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I have been visiting Bisbee at least once a month for almost 20 years. There are few places around "OLD BISBEE" (which is where you want to be) that I have not stayed. The Grand is always my first choice. The suites and rooms are just as I prefer, vintage but clean and well maintained. If you are looking for The Ritz or even a Marriott, don't go to Bisbee at all, it's just not that kind of town. If you are looking for a very unique experience, and wish to take in the "turn of the century" ambiance that is old Bisbee, you just can't go wrong with The Grand. BTW, the attached saloon is also one of the best in town!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bisbee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bisbee Grand Hotel

Address: 61 Main Street, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bisbee Grand Hotel Bed and Breakfast, located at 61 Main St. in Historic Bisbee, Arizona is an elegant escape back to the turn of the century. Each of our seven suites and six rooms are elegantly appointed with antiques, fine art, and extremely comfortable furniture. No two are alike and there is a theme sure to suit any taste. All rooms have their own private bath. As a part of the ongoing renovations and improvements to the hotel, in July of 2008 Air Conditioning was added throughout the hotel. Constructed in 1906 and restored in 1986 in Old West Victorian style, the bed and breakfast hotel features six suites - The Victorian, The Oriental, The Captain's, The Hacienda, The Western, The Hollywood, and The Garden - in addition to seven guestrooms with their own unique decor. Nestled in the copper-rich Mule Mountains, Bisbee's historic architecture, virtually unchanged since 1910, is a popular attraction and provides the town with a unique Old World charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bisbee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bisbee Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.