We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza in Benson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R & R Pizza Express

R & R Pizza Express
161 S Huachuca St, Turn on Huachuca, Right Next to the Circle K, Benson, AZ 85602-6401
+1 520-586-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Benson
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream, Pizza & Pasta, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Buffet
Description: R&R Pizza - Benson is a free standing building on the corner of Huachuca and 5th st. With lots of parking including truck and bus parking in the lot across huachuca. We have an occupancy rating of over 200 people, including a game room and a private party room,for birthdays or meetings.
Benson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pizza in Benson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have had Pizza at every location in Benson...R&R is the very best, hands down! We love the atmosphere, and the service is always great. I've only had one "bad" experience, if you want to call it that. But they were extremely busy, had about 30 seniors come in, and so it took longer than usual...but it was worth the wait!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for the review. We really appreciate your review and your patronage. As you mentioned we do get really busy sometimes, but our new location is much better for this as we now have a private party room that can accommodate 50 - 60 people, and we can prepare for large groups with about a 1 hour notice. So if you ever need to have a large group just give us a little notice and we will be ready. We will also set up a buffet for groups of 25 or larger at anytime, not just our normal buffet times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Box Elder, South Dakota
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped here prior to 4:30 p.m. (passing through) so the salad bar wasn't available and it wasn't a 'buffet night' so we just had pizza. It was good but I can't give a higher review because we didn't have anything else nor did the staff come by to ask if everything was ok......and we were the only ones in there. If we would have been about 10-15 minutes later, the salad bar looked good. When I asked about it, the wait staff said it wasn't ready but immediately after we placed our order, they started loading up the salad bar & it was ready before our pizza was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for the review. I am definitely using this one as a training experience.
You caught us during a slow time for business when the crew is busy making dough for the evening rush. Even so, as you mentioned the salad was ready as it is prepped and then covered with ice after our lunch rush. So all that needed to be done was to take the lids off, put the utensils in and bring out the salad greens.
While my staff failed to tell you they could have it ready in just a few minutes, they proceeded to prepare it anyway. Sometimes it proves to be difficult to find people that can work hard and communicate well, and this time it seems the communication broke down.
Glad you enjoyed the food you did have, and we will do our best to make your next experience even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a pizza and some wings on a spur of the moment drop in. 5 adults ate a Large pizza and ten wings. We took pizza home. Good service, very quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for the visit. Our portions are generous and quality is paramount. We also strive to get everything done as quickly as possible.
Glad you had a wonderful experience. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Bread Sticks Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The garlic bread sticks are amazing! Fast service. Games to keep you busy while your waiting for food. Worth a drive across state to enjoy these bread sticks. Happily we just have to drive across town for them. Very reasonable prices also! Three thumbs up!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Owner very friendly, food very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I have just recently moved to Benson, and we are big buffet eaters. Of the three buffets in Benson we have eaten at, R&R is by far our favorite. We both worked at domino's pizza for years so know a thing or two about pizza. The ONLY way you are going to get better pizza here in Benson is to make it yourself at home, and only if you know what you are doing! If they do not have something on the buffet all you have to do is ask and they will make it for you. And I strongly suggest you try the dessert pizza it is quite nice.

Having been there several times I have had an opportunity to chat with the owner, who in my opinion is very level headed and quite a hard worker. It is very refreshing to know that he actually works in his store and cares about his customers experience. In a day and age where we are bombarded with corporate places to eat filled with people that do not care about the food quality, we should all feel very lucky to have such a wonderful place to go to eat.

On a separate note I have noticed a few, not many, complaints about the food. Here is a piece of advice from someone who has worked in food service for years. If you have a problem with the food you have been served the time to complain is right away! When the owner comes over and asks you how your food is and you are not happy, DO NOT say "oh its pretty good" then come online and complain. What you should do is say "I am not happy with this because..." that way your order can be fixed and then you can come online and let us know how your issue was resolved!

Thanks to all the people that work so hard to give us such a great pizza in such a small little town!

Brian & Jolene Conn

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank your for the very thorough review.
I have been personally running this restaurant in Benson for 18+ years now and I really do care about every aspect of it.
We have worked long and hard to have great food, service and atmosphere and be a great place to work as well.
Thanks again for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R & R Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to R & R Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R & R Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.