We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place nearly ruined our trip” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   699 N Ocotillo Road, Benson, AZ 85602-6012   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Benson
Riverside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This place nearly ruined our trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a terrible place to stay. It is because of this disaster I would have no reason to ever go to Benson again. If this is the last hotel left we will opt to sleep in our car. The location is the worse ever. You are sandwiched between the freeway and train tracks which has a train passing by every 20 minutes all day and all night long. Since the hotel is near the interesection the trains must blow their horns at each passing. The room was not very clean from the old subway sandwich bag found behind the front door to the layer of dust that accumulated around the sitting chair and table which offered you a reading light which didnt work. Not to mention that either the tub or toilet leaked so we had to leave towels on the floor to sop it up. The pool area looked clean, however, you had a view of the stairs leading to the second floor which had caution tape blocking the use of them....apparently there was a step loose that caused an incident with a previous patron. Guess they caught it in time before someone broke a neck. The FREE wireless is nice if you are lucky enough to catch it when it is up and running. We were not so lucky. We had the room pre-booked for 4 nights. Eeeegads it was all we could do to get thru one sleepless night and we decided to walk away and lose the money. We moved up the road not far to St David to a wonderful B & B (Down By The River) which was only $20 more a night and was like finding heaven. I highly recommend it if going to see the Karchner Caverns or Tombstone or Bisbee Copper Mine or the Titan II Missile stay at the B & B which is not a far drive to any of these places. The only reason to even stop in Benson would be to eat at Wild Dogs on 4th. Otherwise just pass on by Benson and head for St David to the Bed and Breakfast called Down By The River.

Room Tip: Pass on by Benson and head to St David to the B & B called Down By The River. You will not be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAlexandra54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
qvdebbie,
We appreciate both the good and the bad reviews. They all will only help us get better. First I will apologize for the subway bag, the dust and I also the water on the floor. These are all issue we can control and will get better with.
I will address the steps, you are correct there was a broken step, as it wasn't something that was pull and replace, it required some welding and new concrete, we did need to use CAUTION tape so that we didn't have a guest fall and possibly hurt themselves, I believe it was the resposible thing to do. I apologize that the caution tape wasn't as eye appealing as you would have hoped. However, I am sure it was to other guest so that they didn't fall down the stairs. On the train and highway issue, as discussed in MANY other post. It is an issue for some. It amazes me that you were able to navigate the internet to book through a third party web site (expedia,hotels.com....), probably look at Trip Advisor to see our reviews and then come back and make such a BIG deal about the trains, and they don't come through every 20 minutes, just seems that way at times. Giving up the extra nights stay and being charged, that has nothing to do with our property. You didn't pay us directly, you payed a third party. So I am glad you were ok giving up the 3 nights as I am sure they weren't going to refund the money.
Sorry it took me so ling to reply, had to take some extra time to let the review make sense to me. Maybe I am a little slow living in BENSON.

Thanks Again for the review.
Bill Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    94
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
74
100
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castres, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

En route to Tucson we stopped in Benson, tired of all that driving since Texas. Best western was conveniently located, and room was clean. The real plus came when we have breakfast in the morning, and started chatting with the lady in charge of it. She gave us lots of information about what to do/ where to go/ what to visit in the area ~ she even went to get some tourist information booklet and marked out the stuff to do. Thanks to her we went to the Desert Museum (we will never had done that otherwise) which we enjoyed greatly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We need a half way point to stay at on our way to Rocky Point and Benson is perfect and this place fits the bill. Reasonable rates and free breakfast . We even had time to drive over to Tombstone, it's only 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was fine. Front desk and breakfast staff were friendly enough. Room had fridge and microwave which is always nice, even if you think you may not use.. I could hear trains, but not too loud. The breakfast was typical fare. It's location was by highway, but also close to Lion Park where Benson's bluegrass festival was my destination that day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stay for one night.Fantastic service.Room super Clean and Big.(King Bed)Internet is free and their Compliment Breakfast is OK.If you caught up in the road and you do not want to Drive an hour more to Tucson this is the perfect Hotel to stay and rest.Next day go to Tombstone Old Vaquero Town is 20 minutes from the there.

Room Tip: Ask them to accommodate you in a second floor or something not near the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Front desk person and maid were hesitant to check us in early even though the hotel was over half empty. Customer service was not their strong point. Room was clean and comfortable. Only complaint was the loud refrigerator and a/c. Pool wasn't overly warm. Jacuzzi was nice but watch out getting in. Huge drop off. Hotel is very close to Highway 10, so you will hear traffic.
Breakfast was nothing to get excited about. Not a bad hotel. Just overpriced. Lastly, who wants to stay in Benson. BORING.............

Room Tip: Choose a room farthest away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAlexandra54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for the review. I would like to think we are above average. As for early check in, we try to accomadate but thats not always something we can do. You mention the hotel was half empty, meaning we were half full. Also had many more expected arrivals. You mention the "maid", that tells me we were still in rooms cleaning so the room may not have been ready. None the less, guest shouldn't expect to get in early. Check in times are posted so it is at the availabilty of the property. If your basing your customer service comment on not being able to get in the room early, sorry for that. As for the price, I believe for April we are where we need to be. If you would like the room cheaper, come back June through September.
You are correct, Benson is BORING, but it is home.
Thanks
Bill Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn

Address: 699 N Ocotillo Road, Benson, AZ 85602-6012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Benson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Benson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes away from many attractions in SE Arizona. Renovated in 2008. Full Hot Breakfast, Swimming pool and Hot Tub, Fitness center on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Benson
Benson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.