We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gammons Gulch

Gammons Gulch
331 West Rockspring Lane, Benson, AZ
520-212-2831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Benson
Attraction details
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Jay the owner is fabulous, friendly host knows his history and great story teller. Lives on property at back. Loves to show you around. What a treasure this place. A MUST see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome time!! Great tour!! A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had read about this place from this site and thought it would be a great place to take our 12 year old triplets. We all had a fabulous time. Jay, the owner and host, is knowledgeable, funny and full of great stories. He made our visit fun and interesting. Call before you head out. I was able to call the same day and we met Jay there in an hour. He was very accommodating and opened his town for our own private visit and tour. A must see! We would go back again!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Old West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Many people had told us we had to go to Gammons Gulch! We weren't disappointed. We had a tour led by Jay Gammon. He is so interesting. Learned so much about this part of AZ (Cochise Co). He has set up an old town which has been used in movies, videos etc. Over the years he has collected many interesting things. Definitely a must see.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Jay's Dream ( to build his own town).”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped by here on a road trip of Arizona. Jay Gammons built this old cowboy town, and it is a work in progress, complete with church, saloon, working blacksmiths, Chinese laundry, old cars and trucks etc. Jay entertained us with a tune on his honkytonk piano, and also on his banjo. His stories of the old cowboy actors is worth a listen. Gammons' Gulch has been the setting of many cowboy films, and is full of interesting artefacts. Jay is a friendly guy, and all the money from visitors is ploughed back into developing and preserving the old town. Would recommend dropping by if you are in the area. Very genuine place, not commercial like Tombstone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was a fun couple hours, he has some great tales and loves to tell them. Lots of cool things to see. Fun Fun!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gammons Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gammons Gulch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.