We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going..!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC

26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC
100 W Camp Rd, Cliffside Marina, Whittier, AK 99693
+1 907-276-8023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 attractions in Whittier
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Since the 1950's, Phillips Cruises & Tours has been operating day cruises to share the majestic glaciers and curious wildlife of Prince William Sound with visitors from around the world. Every journey into Prince William Sound is unforgettable. The 26 Glacier Cruise travels 140-miles in 5-hours retracing the path of early explores John Muir and William Dall who were among the elite community of scientists, artists, photographers and naturalists who explored this area on the Harriman Expedition in 1899. Their discoveries were recorded in several sizable volumes of discoveries. Many of the animals we see were named after explorers on the Harriman Expedition; Dall porpoise, Dall sheep and more. The Captain will set a course that travels through the serenity of Esther Passage and continues into narrow glacier carved fjords. There will be plenty of time to view the majestic alpine and tidewater glaciers of College and Harriman Fjord while traveling in luxurious comfort aboard the M/V Klondike Express, the fastest catamaran in Alaska. This state of the art vessel was built specifically for cruising in Alaska. Our double-plated bow provides a safe and stable cruise as we nudge our way past ice bergs that drift in front of the massive glaciers anchoring the end of the fjords with deep blue crevasses of towering ice. Our high speed catamaran is propelled with two diesel engines that drive water jets, each pumping 165,000 gallons of water per minute with an average cruising speed of 32 knots, allowing us to glide effortlessly through Prince William Sound. If you prefer a shorter cruise, the Glacier Quest Cruise travels into magnificent Blackstone Bay, home to seven glaciers and Yosemite-scale waterfalls. Several terminal moraines are present in this region marking the retreat and advancement of the glaciers over time. Keep an eye on the navigation monitors on the vessel and you'll see how the sea floor shifts from 20 feet in depth to over 1100 feet in a short distance. Waterfalls line the rocky walls of Blackstone Bay with ribbons of shimmering cascades of glacier melt off trailing from 3,000 foot mountain peaks into the sea. Dense spruce forests line the shoreline down to craggy rock outcroppings which are some of our favorite places to spot the wildlife. On both cruises, keep an eye out for playful sea otters, harbor seals, kittiwakes, bears, whales or mountain goats. Both cruises include a complimentary hot lunch, narration provided by a U.S. Forest Service Ranger, reserved indoor seating, full-service bar and snacks available for purchase, restroom equipped, and we offer our exclusive no seasickness guarantee.
Sangli, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth going..!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were through an organised tour package and had a 7-days Princess cruise from next day. thus i was not so interested for this 26 Glacier Cruise. But Alaska never disappoints. it was definitely worth. it was so beautiful and enjoyable. extremely cool and heavy windy experience with panoramic view, which cannot be covered with eyes. Just excellent!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the 26 Glacier Cruise. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day and appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    51
    9
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worth every penny you pay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

After reading reviews about 26 glacier on various websites, we decided to go with them for our glacier cruise to Prince William Sound. One main reason going to Prince William SOund and not kenai Fjords was the sea sickness. 26 glaciers is very comfortable and you will not feel seasick. We had a 4 year old and he also enjoyed the trip. Do take a few coloring books to keep them occupied.

The staff were very warm, friendly, the ranger on board gave a lot of information about the areas we passed by on the way., the names and history of the glaciers, and about the sea life etc. Food served ( fish and chips ) that we ordered was ok fish and chips.

You can change your seat once the tour starts if seating is available.

Parking is available near the entrance for $ 10\12 a day. The views are amazing al around are amazing.

Would highly recommend this to anyone visiting.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing our 26 Glacier Cruise. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable trip. Soon our 2013 season will start and we look forward to having more families like yours travel with us. Have a great year and thank you for taking a moment to post your review on Trip Advisor. Sincerely, Lisa K - Phillips Cruises & Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cruise, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked our entire trip with the Alaska Railroad and have no regrets! We were able to walk to and from our hotel and train station in Anchorage. The train stopped and pointed out some White Beluga Whales and other sites along the route to Whittier. The 26 Glacier Cruise was peaceful and we loved having a booth to hang out in all day. The weather was cold and we had a bit of rain which was to be expected.
We saw Bald Eagle, Sea Otters, Sea Lions and a small glacier calving. The crew even fished out a piece of ice from the glacier calving for us to examine on board.
Don't forget to take you camera!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for spending a day on our 26 Glacier Cruise exploring the beauty of Prince William Sound. Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prov31girl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing tour - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We did this tour on our own as a day trip out of Anchorage. The boat is nice and well run, the food is passable and they have bar service as well. The Forest Service employee who narrates the trip is a plus. You need to keep in mind that this is a boating tour, over a vast area in a region that often has inclement weather. Thus, the tour - what you see and where you go - WILL be impacted by the current weather conditions. There is obviously nothing the tour operators can do about wind, waves, fog, rain, etc - all of those conditions are safety hazards and they need to avoid them for YOUR safety. So if you can't bear the idea that your tour may be altered by adverse weather conditions, than don't set yourself up for frustration and do something else. We happened to be blessed with an overcast but otherwise clear (no fog or drizzle) day and we got to see everything - often much closer up than they normally go. The tour was FABULOUS! If you would like to see pictures and have a more detailed idea of what you will see and do on this tour, please check out my blog - I am currently writing up our entire Alaska adventure: [--]

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that you had a FABULOUS experience with Phillips Cruises & Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestermere AB
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A truly perfect day - Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the train trip from Anchorage to Whittier and seeing the Whales and Eagles anlong the Turnagain Arm, to the beautiful vista on exiting the tunnels near Whittier, the day could not have been better. The 26 Glacier cruise was much more than we expected. All the Glaciers and the wild life were spectacular, Hearing the Glaciers calving and seeing the seals, sea otters, whales and eagles were all made even more enjoyable by the staff and crew of the Klondie Express and the folks of All Alaska Tours,

Well done well worth it. Thank You So Much
O&J Bereska Chestermere, AB

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC to your Saves list