We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant oasis in rainy Whittier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At Whittier

Inn At Whittier
5a Harbor Loop, Whittier, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Whittier
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Haddonfield, Nj
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Elegant oasis in rainy Whittier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Two nights here, to take Major Marine Tour excursion and we had hoped some kayaking (but not, since we are fair weather paddlers). Lovely place to spend rainy days. View from our ocean room magnificent, and even better from the stunning dining room. Food very good, expensive; service tops.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here to stay dry before our boat cruise. Coffee and warm cider were tasty and the seafood chowder was top notch (has a little bit of kick to it). Service was very pleasant despite having to deal with so many in and out guests.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“French Toast Like You Never Tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped to eat breakfast before embarking on our day cruise with Major Marine Tours. I ordered the French Toast and oh my stars what a culinary delight. Best French toast I have ever had. Can't wait to go back. The service was excellent and since the day was a very rare sunny day, the view across the bay allowed us to see the mountains. Highly, highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Checked us into our room very early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very friendly staff who are. Very helpful. We arrived before 10 AM, and was checked into our room. This allowed us to rest before 26 Glacier tour. We just walked over from the hotel and saving having to pay to park.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Try the New Orleans French toast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We arrived in Whittier a little early for the glacier/wildlife tour and spotted the Inn. The New Orleans French toast was fantastic (it is definitely for anyone with a sweet tooth). The food is a little pricey but that is something to expect given the Inn's local competition and that is in a major Alaska tourist stop. The views in the restaurant are spectacular and left us wishing we would have spent one night there during our Alaska adventure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn At Whittier also viewed

 

Been to Inn At Whittier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At Whittier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.