We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a tunnel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anton Anderson Memorial Tunnel

Anton Anderson Memorial Tunnel
Portage Glacier Hwy, Whittier, AK
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 Attractions in Whittier
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Petoskey, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“it's a tunnel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's dark, dank, and you wait a while to go through. Not sure how else to review a tunnel. It's the only way to get to Whittier.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Take the tunnel to Whittier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

One of the most unique tunnels in the world, it is the second longest highway tunnel and longest combined rail and highway tunnel in North America. A great ride, and the only way, to Whittier from the Anchorage side. Yep - you could fly...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting tunnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you know the traffic heading into Whittier is released through the tunnel at the top of the hour, coming from Whittier is on the half hour it helps to plan your travel. Learn a bit about the history and you will appreciate the experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
190 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“Tunnel is cool but expensive and causes travel delays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were taking a cruise out of Whittier and so had to travel through the tunnel to get to the Whittier port. Thankfully we were with a tour/transfer service who were aware of the tunnel times. It is a one way tunnel shared by vehicle and train which alternates each half hour. It is costly to go through the tunnel and then you have to wait in line (by vehicle type) to enter the tunnel. Large buses go first, then cars, then recreational vehicles. The other negative is that it also causes large groups of people to arrive at the cruise port at one time, as you are all coming through the tunnel at the same time. Plan your time accordingly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam Moshava
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
177 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Gateway to Whittier or to central Alaska”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Whittier was the end of our cruise. This was the place where we left the ship for good and got on a tour bus for 5 more days. From our personel perspective - a huge mistake. Have we known, we should have finished the organized tour just there, then rent a car and continue on our own.
The place looks like a nice one to start from. Today I know exactly what I'm going to do, if I ever return to this part of Alaska, which I believe I will. At first we didn't understand the fuss about the tunnel, but once we were in it, we understood it better. After all it's Alaska, and any special equipment you would need to bring there would have to make quite a trip to get there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anton Anderson Memorial Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anton Anderson Memorial Tunnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.