We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Otter Charters

Lazy Otter Charters
East Boat Ramp, Whittier, AK
(907) 694-6887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Attractions in Whittier
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were a group of 5 and only one of us was really interested in the tour. The others went along. It was unforgettable. Well planned but a lot of flexibility for what we wanted.
This is a great activity and one that is well worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great way to experience Alaska in a day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We are lucky enough to live in Anchorage for ½ of the year and we find the best way to see it's
beautiful scenery and wildlife just an hours drive from home is with Lazy Otter Charters. We have done several trips with them over the years and each time its a unique experience. If you prefer being away from the crowds and exploring Alaska's beauty and wildlife this is the trip for you. As photographers, we absolutely loved photographing the calving glaciers and the most beautiful scenery. The wildlife is also spectacular...our experiences included seeing humpbacks, sea otters, harbor seals, stellar sea lions, eagles and puffins. The staff is very friendly and our Captain "Mike" was extremely knowledgable.
The best way to see Alaska if you are based in Anchorage or the vicinity.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Honest people and best coffee in Whittier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Wife and kids and I went here for a much needed cup of coffee and hot chocolate for the kids after waking up to 2" of water inside our tent after what felt like a monsoon ripped thru our campsite. We were in Whittier with friends on their boat and in my excitement to get out of there, I left my phone on the table. Imagine my surprise 8 hours later when I went inside and the girl behind the counter said "You mean this one?" When I asked if anyone had turned in a phone. That experience really restored my faith in people. They have honest employees, great coffee and breakfast sandwiches as well as huge cinnamon rolls.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is the trip to take”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went on July 5th and the weather was suppose to be nice in the morning but rainy in the afternoon but as we found out in Alaska the weather changes quickly. We set out with captain Mike in a rain with very choppy waters. The first hour or so was spent looking for whales which had been seen all week but with no luck. Captain Mike decided to go to the hatchery instead as the glaciers were all fogged in. once we made the turn into the area where the hatchery was our luck for the day changed. We entered calm waters and saw more than 20 bald eagles flying and fishing. We then left and began our search for whales again and in mere minutes saw a humpback and baby by our boat. We spent many minutes watching and taking photos. Then to our delight Capt Mike's other boat called to say they were watching a pod of orcas in the area. Off we went and again we spent a good deal of time watching and taking photos. Then it was off to a quiet cove to have lunch while seeing a otter enjoying his. Lunch was great with deli salmon spread, bagels, drinks and cookies. Then it was off to the glaciers as the fog had lifted and we got the best possible light and could see just how blue they were. We stayed for a good long time and saw many instances of calving. We saw one of the bigger boats there and they stayed for about a quarter of the time we did. Capt Mike even offered to make a beach landing but my 75 yr old mom was tired and we had already missed the schedule tunnel opening so we declined. Mike and Kelly could not have been better. my Dad summed it up best by saying to me "Now that I did this tour I could never imagine having to take that big boat"

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent a perfect Sunday the end of June on Prince William Sound with Captain Mike and we were blessed with having Captain Dale with us as well. The weather was perfect, the sea otters entertaining, Surprise Glacier was very active as we enjoyed our lunch (no other boats around), the scenery was breathtaking, the puffin colony unique, and the day was topped off with whales! We had contemplated booking with the larger cruises, but we are so happy we spent a little more and had a boat to ourselves for the day, and knowledgeable captains to provide us with history of the area. Very worth it. Highly recommend, especially for adults to spend a day away from the crowds. We plan to return!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy Otter Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Otter Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.