We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Spectacular View - Fantastic Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Bay Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Settlers Bay Lodge
5801 S. Knik Goose Bay Rd, Wasilla, AK 99654
907-357-5678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 113 restaurants in Wasilla
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food - Spectacular View - Fantastic Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The view from anywhere in restaurant is spectacular - we had apps and dinner and both were excellent, perfectly cooked and prepared. The waitstaff is sooooo friendly and accommodating - this is a must if you are in the area or passing through!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    29
    16
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Insulting service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Went there with my friend, her 2 sons (4 yo and 6 mo) and my daughter (2.5 yo). We came right after 4pm and ordered a meal. While we were waiting, our kids were playing with silverware. All of a sudden, bartender is running up to our table and saying "Shhh, your kids are too loud!" The restaurant was almost empty and we didn't know that it wasn't children friendly. If I am willing to pay $30+ a plate, my children shouldn't be forced to be silent the entire time we are waiting for food. I got up and told the waitress that we felt offended and were leaving and instead of apology was told to pay $6 for two children's juices. They added gratuity. Insulting and rude, will never come back and tell all my friends to stay away!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE IN WASILLA!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hands down this place is the beast we got in Wasilla. The 7 mile trip out KGB is so so worth it. Amazing food and awesome staff!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Meeting and special dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent meeting place with wonderful catered food and a mountain vista view. Warm and inviting, good sound system.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla alaska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“over priced, and over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went there this evening for a meal with my wife and our kids. After scanning over the menu, it became clear to me that this was supposed to be an upscale place. I orderd the Ribeye steak, medium rare, with bluecheese, onions, and mushrooms on top. The steak was set in front of me was about 1/4 inch thick on one end an 1" on the other. Not even pink in the center. It was covered with onions, had about 6 little crumbles of bluecheese, and about the same amount of small mushroom quaters. 30.00 is what they charged fro this. It reminded me of a steak that you would get at a denny's. The veggies were luke warm at best, and the bread stale. What amazed me was the place was packed. Go figure. That being said, my advice is to go someplace else if you want a decent steak. Way over priced, and way over rated.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settlers Bay Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Settlers Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.