We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Wasilla's better restaurants.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Bay Lodge

Settlers Bay Lodge
5801 S. Knik Goose Bay Rd, Wasilla, AK 99654
907-357-5678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 115 Restaurants in Wasilla
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of Wasilla's better restaurants.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

We have been to Settler's Bay restaurant many times. Nice facility, good food, service is on par with Alaska service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    4
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food with a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had dinner here back in July. Our steaks were cooked exactly as ordered. Our shrimp was a tad overdone but still tasted very good. We will definitely be back.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance and view, good service, great meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Wasilla doesn't have much to offer in the way of upper end restaurants where you can dress up and have an elegant evening - this is such a restaurant. Of course, this is Alaska, so "nice casual" attire is perfectly fine too. The interior of the restaurant is lovely and the view is stunning. We have gone here for dinner on several occasions and always have had wonderful meals with great service. The seared ahi appetizer is fabulous. On this last visit my partner and I split a 16 oz. rib eye steak. It was perfectly done and nicely paired with vegetables. Our waitress was very attentive without being obtrusive. The restaurant is large, but the tables are well placed and even when full the area is not noisy.

If you find this review helpful.....please "like" it! I'm working hard here to keep you all informed ;-)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, but that is about it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The view and setting is beautiful. The bar is full service, and very nice. Good wine selection. The problem is the food is hit or miss. I ordered the pepper steak, it was over cooked and when I said it was over cooked, the server took the steak away, and the server, the hostess, the manager and the cook inspected it and sent it back, to tell me it was NOT overcooked. Like I wanted to eat the cold thing after all those people examined it and breathed all over it. It stayed on my bill. I did not eat it, and did not even bother to take it home to the dog.
The service was even worse than the food that night.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. Food is just OK. Pricey.
This place has been opened and closed...and opened again and again. Hope it makes it this time. Probably the nicest place to go in Wasilla....as far as restaurants go.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settlers Bay Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Settlers Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.