We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for breakfast, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mat-Su Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mat-Su Family Restaurant
401 E Parks Hwy, Wasilla, AK 99654
907-357-7017
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 115 Restaurants in Wasilla
Cuisines: American, Diner, Family Fare
Restaurant details
Franklin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We wanted to try the Reindeer sausage. It was well prepared and service was prompt. We had a good experience and the price was reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, Cheap Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is where my family always meets up for breakfast. It's a plain ol' diner- nothing fancy here, but they are consistent, food is cheap and coffee is hot!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“First visit, very pleased with food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've driven by this place for a few years, never thought to give it a try, outside sign and decor from road is not terribly appealing. We were shopping nearby and hungry one day & decided to give it a try. I'm glad we did. We had Ruben sandwich plate and burger plate - very happy with the quality and taste. Good portion size. Quaint diner feel, clean, & yes lots of locals were there & we'll definitely go back and try it again! Server was very friendly.
(There seems to be a room in the back that you can have private parties in - good to know.)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've eaten there three times and never finished a meal. Got breakfast - eggs, hashbrowns, bacon and toast ; every bite tasted the same. A French Dip sandwich that was all roll with only a small amount of formed meat - inedible!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Homestyle Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would never say my wife, POLARJOY, would over indulge. This is a great place for breakfast. Their corned beef and cabbage is some of the best you will ever have. The lamb chops are to die for. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu or the specials. The service is great. What more do you want?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mat-Su Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mat-Su Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mat-Su Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.