We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Convenient Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Harbor Drive, P.O.Box 468, Valdez, AK 99686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice and Convenient Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This motel is very conveniently located next to the small boat harbor of Valdez. If you are taking a Prince William Sound boat tour or a fishing expedition you can't ask for a more conveniently located motel. The motel itself is attractive and serviceable though it does have more of a major chain feel than do some other motels. This is not meant as a negative only to say it is efficient and well down, but lacks rustic charm. Nothing wrong with it.

The rooms were adequately sized for three adults plus our luggage. The queen size beds were comfortable, and the room and bathroom were very clean. There is no air conditioning so you need to open the window for ventilation. We were on the first floor but they provide a security lock to keep the window from being opened too far. There is a television and Internet. There is a restaurant attached to the motel but we did not eat there so I can't give any thoughts.

A typical hot breakfast was included in the room rate. They had the usual waffle maker, cereal, pastries, bagel/bread, juice, hot drinks, and so on. It was adequate though the seating space was a bit tight one of the mornings.

Overall a very decent motel to stay in while in Valdez. We were there for two nights in the middle of July. The motel seemed full both nights. Don't miss the brown bear in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    122
    73
    31
    12
See reviews for
61
126
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the only hotel in town. Room was adequate size, but pretty stuffy. There is no air-conditioning. Breakfast was standard fare for a hotel of this type. But they had out some orange slices and once they were gone in the AM, they were never replenished. Othere fruit selections were canned and sweetened. Hot eggs were slightly better than the usuall processed scrambled eggs. There is no elevator, so many patorns had to lug their suitcases up the stairs. Hallway noise very loud in the rooms. Location is good to the harbor and other activities. Flowers in flower boxes were gorgeous!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you can not carry your luggage up a stairway. Rooms on swecond floor close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is the only decent choices in Valdez. Accommodation are very limited. The room was small. The choice of a large rolling chair at hte desk made it very difficult to access my size of the bed because of room size. There was alot of water damage to the ceiling. Room was noisy. You could easily hear guest outside the room and through the wall. Beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. We were stopped by a hotel maid in the hallway who asked us if she could help carry our bags. Never had that happen at a chain hotel before. Very courteous. Parking is limited. We had to walk in from another parking lot, but we were there during the Gold Rush Days when there was extra demand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Super convenient for fishing charters or Stan Stephens glacier tours, right on the small boat harbor.

The hotel staff was friendly and accomodating. Rooms were clean and had comfortable beds. Unfortunately, Alaska was experiencing a heat wave when we visited and the hotel does not have air conditioning. They had provided a fan, and we slept with the windows open. Not ideal since we were on the ground floor facing the main parking lot.

The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar attached, and is close to several other eateries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent hotel and located within walking distance of all things happening in Valdez, Alaska. Restaurant food was very good and the slection was pretty good for the location on the planet. Breakfast is not served in the restaurant but is served in the lobby area of the building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Douglas G

Thank you and we are so glad that we were able to make your trip an enjoyable experience I hope we can serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I arrived at 10 am due to a cancelled flight out of Valdez in the morning. I told the staff I was waiting to get on a flight in the evening out of Valdez that my company had rebooked so I would likely only need the room for the day (even though it was fully paid for). I waited the entire day in the lobby to get into a room that was cleaned and the staff continually said "their rooms are not ready". Clearly, a room can be cleaned and made up in about 15 or 20 minutes and no effort was made to get me into a room when they new I was only there for 6-8 hours waiting. VERY poor and sloppy customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience my staff and I are really sorry for the communication problems that we had that day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location right at the small boat harbour. Parking can be insufficient when the hotel is busy. Ask for a room looking over the harbour for endless entertainment as the boats come and go constantly. It was very hot when we were there, but rooms do not have air conditioning, we were told this is not needed in Alaska. No lift. Good sized rooms, and everything in the town is within easy walking distance. Breakfast ok, with waffles if wished.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear SheilaEdinburghUK.

My staff and I would like to THANK YOU for your kind comments we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us hope to see you in the future.


Scott malone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn

Address: 100 Harbor Drive, P.O.Box 468, Valdez, AK 99686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valdez Harbor Hotel Valdez
Valdez Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.