We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good under the circumstances” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Palace Ristorante

Mike's Palace Ristorante
201 N. Harbor Dr, Valdez, AK 9686
907-835-2365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 23 Restaurants in Valdez
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good under the circumstances”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our John Hall's Tour group invaded Mike's Palace about 9:00p.m. With a group of 44 people that had been riding in a bus for about 12 hours. Most of us didn't even want to be eating that late but the staff was very efficient and served all of our group within minutes. I guess it helped that our tour guide had called ahead with the orders and an approximate arrival time. Food was good and my wife really loved the ladies room. Not sure what is so exciting about it as the men's room wasn't anything special. Have no idea what the prices are like because we never saw the menus. I would definitely give this place a chance at least once.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    27
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Food was ok, prices were high, and service wasn't great. Maybe but it was because we got here about 40 minutes before closing. I won't say it was bad, nothing was bad, just not great.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I ate at Mike's twice while visiting friends in Valdez. I had pizza the first time and the Tortellini the second time. Both were excellent! I look forward to eating at Mike's again. K Gough

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ordered a Pizza when we got home we opened up the box and there was a used Band-Aid with blood on it on the pizza..... they were quick with the refund but offered us another pizza like we would ever touch something they cooked again... they obviously have never heard of gloves I am thoroughly disgusted and will never go back

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mixed company with mixed reviews.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Personally I had an exceptionally delightful experience. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good food, fair prices for the most part, and surprisingly updated ladies restroom facility. The Caprese was nice, and the Gyro was excellent!!! My husband enjoyed his soup (forget the name, some tomato seafood thing) and the bacon wrapped scallops (slightly overpriced) and loved the sauce. Our friend was not pleased with his steak but it seemed ok to me. My 5 year old is quite talkative and the waitress was very engaging and friendly to him.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Palace Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Palace Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Palace Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.