We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Halibut House

Alaska Halibut House
208 Meals Ave, Valdez, AK 99686
907-835-2788
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Valdez
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great place for a quick meal. Everything on the menu I think was fried. We had the fried salmon and the fried halibut. It was good, not great. It's more or less a fast food place. You enter and order, sit and they bring it to you.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Hole
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfully fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Not a lot of restaurants in Valdez but I wanted halibut. And I was delighted to have picked this place. The halibut meal...4 pieces of lightly battered and fried halibut and fries. The fish was very tasty fried in fresh oil so the flavor was wonderful and the fries as well. You order from the menu on the wall and the young folks working here bring the meal to you on a tray. A simple but ample meal and I would surely come here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

At a late dinner here on the recommendation of trip advisor. So happy that we did so. Get the fried halibut dinner. Very fresh, nice batter. Simple meal but really fresh tasting. Really good tarter sauce, too.
Fries are nothing to write home about, but you are really there for the fish!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great fish dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Alaska prices are overall higher than the lower 48. That being said the lunch was a very good value. They had a "salad bar". The only reason I didn't give the higher rating...small paper bowl, one pass. The fish was excellent, light batter. Wait staff was professional.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Halibut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Yummy lunch of halibut. I have not been to this place sense I was a kid, so when we were in town we stopped by. Not a lot has changed over the years.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Halibut House also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Halibut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Halibut House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.